Knitting out of the house

As I’ve mentioned before, I do a decent amount of knitting out of the house. I knit at Park Days, during the Things’ art class, in the front yard watching kids play, at stitch and bitch, etc.  Many of the things I knit aren’t that complicated for me.  I do plain vanilla socks, I do things with predictable patterns, or things that repeat so I can look at the pattern at the beginning of the row and then just continue as I start.   I’m not changing the world with my knitting, and that’s okay by me.   When I’m picking things to take with me out of the house, I will intentionally choose those items that need less focus (because I do, occasionally, do something fancier), and this is usually an easy choice: take the current socks in progress.

Tomorrow I am attending an all-day workshop where I will be able to knit for much of the day.  Because I’m leaving so early in the morning, I need to make a packing list and do some organizing tonight to maximize sleep in the morning and minimize chaos when the morning is brought to you by the letter Z for Zombie.  Normally, I’d throw in whatever socks were in progress, and I do have a pair, but they’re nearly done.    I’m mildly concerned that I’ll finish them and then have idle hands  (and end up in the trouble corner or something).  The next pair I plan to make are too complicated to begin out of the house (or possibly work on at all out of the house, but we’ll see).

So:

  • Bring yarn to start a different pair of socks
  • Bring yarn for something different (and if so, what? I’m a little uninspired by this month’s HP “classes” — here’s a condensed list if you’re curious: http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/the-den/2010008/1-25)
  • Just bring the socks in progress.  you’re overestimating how much you’ll get done
  • who the hell cares?

I’ll also have with me a baby hat I just finished (to use up some stash).  I actually think it’s too small for an infant, but there will be many infants at the workshop tomorrow, so I’m hoping I can get a parent to let me try the hat on her child.  If it doesn’t fit, I’ll end up ripping that all out.  Yay!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knitting out of the house

  1. Heather says:

    The problems we knitters have. I miss the workshops for LLL. Sometimes starting a project is hard for me while I am out. If I just have the first few rows I am much better off. So what did you decide?

  2. ameyknits says:

    I brought the baby hat (it mostly fit on the two 12 month old babies there, so i’m calling it good enough), the in progress socks and yarn for a brainless pair of socks. I’m still working on the “in progress” socks. If I wasn’t a zombie tonight, I might be able to finish them, but I’m going to do some of the dishes and go to bed. I didn’t sleep very well last night.

    As an aside, I downloaded the first 15+ episodes of Stash and Burn, and think they’re easier to listen to at the beginning. Also, I avoided the yarn store pit-stop on the way home from the meeting today (out of tiredness, but I could claim it was “being good.”)

Leave a Reply

