Product, process, progress.

I’ve pretty much always been a “product” knitter rather than a “process” knitter.  There are some people for whom knitting is a loose creative experience: they knit swatches or pieces of fabric seeing how stitches look and how the fabric can be manipulated and are content with these explorations.  Not me.  If I’m knitting, the goal is a finished, functional object.    That doesn’t mean I finish everything I start.  There are plenty of things I start with good intentions and then just completely lose interest in, or I get distracted by something else (squirrel!).  I do have several UnFinished Objects, and things that I’ve completely ripped out because I just didn’t like them or didn’t want to deal with them anymore.

2012, so far, as been the year of “getting things done.”  I can say that since it’s only February. 🙂

I finished another hat:

It’s the Lotus Hat.  The pattern was relatively simple to execute – just increases and decreases.  I’ve casted on for the Koolhaas hat and already need to rip back.  I completely ignored the instruction to switch to larger needles before I started the cable section (thankfully I’m only 4 rows in.  I also had to borrow a needle since I have no idea where mine is in the size I need.

Not wanting to be without knitting at the park yesterday, though, I started another pair of socks.   And yes, these are different from the Vampire Boyfriend socks I know I need to finish by the end of March, but I didn’t want to try to start those there.  I’m going to have to pay attention to the charts for the cables and the park isn’t the place to start that.

In addition to the audiobooks and the Stash and Burn podcast early episodes I’ve been listening to, I’ve been reading some brain candy.  I’ve found that generally I can listen to audiobooks while standing or moving, but if I sit, I want a regular book.  I’m about two-thirds done with Dog Handling which is definitely fluff reading.   I just finished The Second Assistant which was also fluff.  They were random finds at the library, and I picked them largely based on the cover art.    To Yarn Along with Ginny, here are the current socks (generic toe-up using the Queen Kahuna pattern I use for all my plain vanilla socks.  Warning – there are a lot of colors and fonts.  It’s not “blinged” and it’s not, say Old School Geocities, but still).

For discussion: as one tries to use up one’s stash, what does one do when one receives a very specific knitting request one would like to honor but cannot with current stash contents.  I think I might have to buy some yarn.  Thankfully it’s just for a hat.  I mentally set as a goal for this year to use up all of the yarn in the “acrylic bin.”  This is a small goal, and I’m not thinking about leftover balls (which I consider “anything too small to knit a baby hat”), but it seemed reasonably reachable.    Are you trying to use up any particular parts of your stash?

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product, process, progress.

  1. Jen says:

    I too am more of a product knitter then process knitter. Which is why I love knitting for babies and toddlers! I’ve been trying to knit exclusively from my stash for a year now. Somehow it’s not going down, even though I very rarely buy any yarn. And what I HAVE bought has been for a very specific project. (Like if someone asks for something that I know I haven’t got the right yarn for).

  2. Heather says:

    If it is a requested item, I make an exception. I am really trying to use my sock yarn. It seems reasonable to at least knit 12 skeins this year. This should almost exhaust it.

Leave a Reply

