One step forward, four steps back

Since I finished the purple Milo vest, I’ve been in a lousy knitting place.

It used a little more than one skein of Lamb’s Pride, so I figured i could go down a size (to 9 months) and get another one out of what was left. I got about 2/3 of the way thru it and was very concerned I wouldn’t have enough.  So, I ripped it out, and casted on again for a 3 month size.  I had about 2 inches left and not enough yarn (perhaps because I used a more complex cable?).  So, I ripped it out again.  I’m (mostly?) sure I could make the very smallest size, but I had to set the yarn aside because I just didn’t want to deal with any more ripping back.

I found a nearly full ball of pale yellow wool/acrylic blend in my stash and browsed for patterns.  I considered a child’s hat, but decided on yet another cowl (cowl: the hat without decreases!) with a simple (????) feather and fan pattern.  I had to cast on twice because I hadn’t used enough yarn the first time.  I worked on it yesterday at the park and suddenly realized I’d messed up somewhere because one of my 13 stitch sections had 17 stitches in it.  So, I slowly unknit 4 rows (to get back to the last increase/decrease row).  Guess what?  That wasn’t where the mistake was.  Rather than slowly working back another 4 rows, I pulled the needle out and ripped the whole thing back into a tidy ball.

Last night I started a hat (yeah, another one).  The cast on again took two attempts (am I new??). I’m one row in.  We’ll see how it goes.  If this isn’t what I’m supposed to be knitting either, I wish the universe would throw me a bone or something.  Clearly I’m not getting the message.   Well, unless the message is “just finish the socks” in which case I’m singing “lalalalalalalalalalalalala  can’t hear you!”.   I’ll be happy when they’re finished, but I just don’t want to work exclusively on 4 inches of 2×2 ribbing.  So there.

To illustrate that (and join the Yarn Along), here’s a picture of the yarns of the week:

You can see the socks at 9 o’clock.  The purple yarn at 11, the yellow at 1 and the current project (grey) at 2.  Underneath is Mockingjay.  I finished Catching Fire this morning.  I’ve been pacing myself, so I haven’t allowed those books to leave a very specific spot, until this morning.  I had 2 pages left to read and didn’t want to stand at the bathroom counter with it, so I took it downstairs with me to finish it.   I won’t share spoilers.  I’m also listening to “Plum Lucky” (a Stephanie Plum short story).  The boys and I have been listening to The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place in the car, but now I’m trying to download Catwings on Ginny’s suggestion.

If this hat fails, I’m not sure if I’ll suck it up and finish the socks, or try something ELSE.   What do you knit when all your knitting seems to end up back on the ball?

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One step forward, four steps back

  1. Alisa says:

    oh I had a rut like that not too long ago……..good luck on this hat!! Happy knitting!!

  2. ameyknits says:

    I took Thing 1 and Thing 2 to art class thinking I’d work on the hat. Of course all that stuff in the picture was still out on the patio table where I photographed it, rather than in my usual knitting basket. So, I started a washcloth with the little balls of cotton I have living in the bottom of that. A garterlac washcloth. I’ve made at least 40. I have the pattern memorized.

    I screwed that up, too.

Leave a Reply

