A break from the ribbing.

Wednesday again, which means books and knitting.  Those deadlines have been breathing down my neck!  I managed to finish the baby socks in time for theirs.   I’ve made some progress on the adult socks, but I’m not certain they’ll be done by the end of the month.  It’ll depend on how much I can get done tonight and tomorrow, but dear me – so much 2×2 ribbing…….     I JUST finished this cute pair of wool shorties (capris?  who knows – I don’t have a newborn handy to measure).  I still need to wash them and then put them in the mail, but so far there hasn’t been a “hey!  we have a baby!” update, so I’m not terribly late there yet.

This picture isn’t the best, since I just took it.  I’m inside the house at night, so there isn’t any natural light.  Also, I’m not camera/picture editing savvy, so I haven’t bothered to try to correct anything.  The colors are pretty accurate, though.

I’m currently listening to Slummy Mummy.   It gets pretty mixed reviews, but I’m finding it mildly humorous and certain elements of her story ring true for me (and others might if I had to get kids out the door to school daily – *shudder*).    The car book is the second “Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place” book which I’m enjoying as much as the kids.  We’ve already downloaded the third so there won’t be any lag in listening.  I still have Her Fearful Symmetry, but it’s been living in the library bin.  I need to dig it back out.  Instead, I’ve been rereading the shortstories in Nightmares and Dreamscapes by Stephen King.

I need to get back to the socks, but in the mean time:  if you have a tween boy, what does he like to read?

 

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A break from the ribbing.

  1. Heather says:

    Is N a tween or are you referring to D? Please tell me D. Eamon prefers comics above all else. He also rereads the first 4 HP. He read the Percy Jackson and the others by Riordan. We just checked out Horton’s Miraculous Mechanisms. Books for your kids (a blog) has loads of recommendations.

  2. Natalie says:

    Oh my, tween boys…my son is 12. He very much enjoyed the Percy Jackson series, he is reading the second series by the same author (I forget the rest of the titles, but one is The red pyramid), he has asked for the series Conspiracy 365 for his birthday because he really really enjoyed the first one. He is enjoying Eldest, which follows Eragon. Last night he finished Daniel X. Sorry, I can’t remember the other author names off the top of my head, but both of my boys also enjoyed the Cirque De Freak novels by Darren Shan.

  3. ameyknits says:

    Definitely D. N is a wee babe who will never been an angsty 11 year old. EVER.

  4. Karen Sue says:

    think Daniel X is a james patterson.
    Mine is also into the Eragon, Percy Jackson, Hunger Games…

  5. Thanks for the suggestions!! I have a reluctant reader, that when he finds he series he LOVES, you can’t tear him away from books. The problem is we have to go through a bunch of books to find ones he loves!! He really liked Michael Vey by Richard Paul Evans. Said it was really a good book. He also likes the Kingdom Keepers series.

Leave a Reply

