The totals for May

It was a light month – I had grand plans, but was slow on execution.  Or maybe it’s just that I did more dishes or something.  Who knows.

For those keeping track, I knit up 537 yards in May, bringing the grand total to 4014.9 yards.  I’ve broken the 2 mile mark.  I’ve also kept up with my sock goals of knitting a pair per month.

This month I’m tackling my Everyday Cardigan (scroll down).  Several years ago I did a co-op for Peace Fleece yarn and decided I was going to knit myself a sweater.  I also decided that I’d get it in sportweight rather than worsted because I would only need a lighter weight sweater. I did NOT consider the fact that because sport weight yarn is thinner, it would also knit up SLOWER than worsted.   I did manage to knit the back and about 2 inches of a sleeve and then abandoned it.  Not knowing what size I was knitting, and thinking there was a chance my gauge had changed in the interim, I ripped everything back.  Last night I swatched and today I started knitting.  I’ve broken the projects into sections like I did when I did my Viking Park Hoodie (the blue cabled sweater).  They’re roughly the same amount of work: the back, both sleeves, the 2 fronts, and then the button band and seaming.   I’ve planned about 10 days per section, with some wiggle room, but I can’t go crazy.  I hope it works out.

I’ve picked out yarn for my next pair of socks.  I made the decision strictly by “what’s already in two balls so I don’t have to weight it and split it again.”  It’s yarn I bought years ago (again), and I don’t have the labels.  I remember they were black, and I bought it telling the shop person that I wanted to make socks.  I’m really hoping it’s  superwash.  If I’m SMART, I’ll knit the socks and then knit a swatch (so that I know I have enough yarn for the socks first) and see how the swatch does in the wash.  If it felts right up, I’ll have to handwash the socks, which is usually not my idea of a good time.

Well, the cat has let me know that she’s unhappy I’m still up, so it’s off to bed with me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The totals for May

  1. Heather says:

    I am easily lured by fingering weight sweaters thinking they would be perfect for our heat. I then remember how slowly fingering would be to knit into a sweater. You plan sounds very good indeed. WTG on the knit down

Leave a Reply

