Socks and wallflowers

I think I need to find some motivation to post over the weekend and not just on Wednesdays.  Sometimes I write on other days, but Wednesday is the only really consistent day because of Ginny’s Yarn Along.   I’ve made some forward progress.  The back is done on my sweater, and I’m up to the gussets on my May socks.  I also want to knit a teapot cozy this month; I’ve picked the stash yarn for that already.

Time for “Drag and brag.”

I have no idea what yarn that is.  I bought it several years ago, and it had a black label which I’ve lost.  I’m hoping it’s superwash, but who knows.  I bought it wanting it to be socks, so I might be lucky.  On the right side of the right sock you can see my very fancy increase marker.  When I need to increase, I put two loops (so the chain is “folded”) on my needle.  If it’s a plain row, I leave it long.  This helps when I need to put the work down having only done one sock.

The book is The Perks of Being a Wallflower.  I was familiar with the title because I check out the Frequently Challenged Books list put out by the ALA, and it’s made that list.  I saw an advert for the movie that’s coming out soon, and figured it would make a good read between other things.  So far it’s enjoyable.  Oh, and that’s not my AMEX card being used as a bookmark.  It’s one of those “don’t you want to get this fancy card??” insert things.    I am still reading American Gods, and I’m listening to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.  I’ve read Guernsey before (in print).  I’m enjoying the audiobook version with the different narrators.  I think that Heather  recommended the audiobook, and I’m glad she did.

I need to run out the door because of a sudden plan change, but I’ll try to remember to tell the short story about drag and brag.  I know you’ll all be waiting on tenterhooks or something.

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Socks and wallflowers

  1. Heather says:

    I so enjoy your posts, Amey. Isn’t it a good audiobook. I also read the print version, but still enjoyed the audio. You are a sock maven. I may just finish mine this week if something sparkly doesn’t pull me away first.

  2. Pingback: Summer nomads « Digging out of the stash

Leave a Reply

