A small step back

Let’s start with the good news.  I knit up 408.5 yards in June.  That brings the grand total to 4423.4 yards (2.5 miles!). I didn’t knit a full pair of socks in June (but one could argue that I knit two pairs in May, so I’m still on target for 12 pairs, but one of those May pairs was baby socks, so whatever).  But forward progress was made.

Now for the other side of the coin.  At the beginning of this month I bought yarn – 874 yards worth.  My local yarn store is hosting a Mystery Shawl KAL later in the month.  I wanted to participate because the clues seemed like it might be my kind of interesting (here’s hoping).  I’m also very behind on my sweater.  So very, very behind.  The back is done.  I’ve done about 6 inches of the sleeves.  As a comparison, I made these notes on my Ravelry project page:

Parts:
Back – goal: done by June 12
Both sleeves – goal: done by June 22
Both fronts – goal: done by July 2
Button band/seaming up – goal: done by July 12

It’s July 8th and I’ve only completed goal 1.  But, I’m okay with it.  I knew I’d run behind when I started that baby sweater and still I started (and finished it).  I’m not attached to the finish date, but I would like it to be done by the end of the month (and if not, by the end of August).  Realistically, though, I won’t bring it with me on vacation if it’s still in pieces, so we may be looking at September. 

June really wasn’t a good knitting month for me.  I definitely felt more ambivalent about it in general and was really disinterested in finishing things.  The baby sweater was finished mostly so that it was DONE and I didn’t have another one languishing here for month.  I have no idea what I’m going to do with it, though.  I think I’m feeling “end of the year” ish (school year) and a bit tired.  Being increasingly housebound because of the heat isn’t helping. 

I know it’s not Wednesday, but I still wanted to comment on books.  I’m nearly done with Anansi Boys and I’ve really enjoyed it.  The way Gaiman has combined ancient African fairy tales with modern day was quite enjoyable.  I need to get back to The 19th Wife – I took a break trying to finish The Perks of Being a Wallflower before that was due at the library and failed (I agree with much of the positive press for this book, so I need to get it back out and find out how it ends).  With those two out of the way, it’ll be back to Wife and I also need to read Wicked Business which is a little brain candy and due back at the library soon.  I’ve been listening to the Hannibal Lecter books and am finally on the last one (which is really a prequel).  I read somewhere that a movie director (producer?) had decided that he was going to make a prequel type movie with or without Thomas Harris’s help, so Harris rushed the book out and helped with the movie.  It definitely feels less… organized, thoughtful, whatever.  It feels more like a reaction than an intentional action.  I have read the book in print and only half remember it (because it’s crap?), but it’s not so bad that I’m turning it off (unlike that Meg Cabot vampire disaster).  Each book (Red Dragon, The Silence of the Lambs, Hannibal, Hannibal Rising) has had a different narrator which has been interesting.  This last one is read by Thomas Harris.  His southern twang seems out of place for a book set in Lithuania and France (at least so far), but I’m warming up.  Hannibal was read by a British narrator, and the other two by Americans (I think).  In case you care 😉

How is your summer shaping up? 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

