Admitting defeat

I didn’t plan well for this sweater, and it’s definitely not going to be done by Sunday.  The sleeves are about 4 inches short (and I’m ot done with the increases, so the knitting isn’t going to get any faster), and I still have to do the fronts plus all the assembling.  Oh well.  Now I just need to decide if I’ll change my mind and take the pieces with me on vacation.  I think I’ll end up finishing the sleeves and then doing some other small things for my Harry Potter group for this month.  I don’t know if I’m going to try to tackle some socks or just skip the month.    Maybe I should just look at using up sock yarn STASH rather than having to knit socks – I definitely did that last month with the baby sweater.

I’m still working my way thru The 19th Wife.  It took a backseat to Miss Peregrine (eh), but now it’s my main print book.  I’m at the “thrilling conclusion” with the Sophie Kinsella book and need to find another fluffy audiobook.  I’m not sure what I think about The 19th Wife.  I think I would’ve preferred either that the author made up a completely fictional pioneer (rather than using Ann Eliza) OR if he had used her actual diaries/documents.  This blending is challenging for me to read because I prefer my reading to either be FICTION or NON-FICTION.  Not the middle ground that this is.   I think it would be different if I hadn’t read so much FLDS literature (non-fiction) already.   Anyway.  I’m giving it some time, but I have to keep mentally reminding myself that the historical section isn’t necessarily fact, I don’t think.

Aside from knitting and reading along with Ginny, it’s summer vacation clean up around here.  We put laminate flooring in the living room (which DH isn’t sure he’ll ever do again), and the inside is getting painted next month.  So we’re trying to corral or eliminate clutter to make it easier to deal with  moving furniture and “stuff” for the painters.   I’ve had yarn bins and things out on the playroom couch, and on my desk, so I’ve been reloading those into my Expedit.  I was thrilled when I learned that the itso bins from Target fit into the Expedit cubbies, so I now have 8 super fun polka dot bins for knitting.  However, I can’t see what’s in them.  I need to make or buy some kind of tag to label them.  I think it would be super if I could scan the bin (??) and then use those dots, scaled down, as the background on some business card sized tags that I laminate.  Where does one get those little bead chains and the closures like on keychains?  That’s what I think I’d like to hold them on, rather than tying them with something.  Hardware store?  Joann’s?  I’d like to be able to pick them up rather than order them.

What are you working on?  Are you keeping to your deadlines?  If you have a summer break, is it a “productive” one, a relaxing one, or some of both?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Admitting defeat

  1. Heather says:

    I also thought Miss Peregrine was eh. I am not liking the feeling that all books are now written as a whole book cut into three. How cool about the bins. I think you can take a photo, change the color if you want and print it onto card stock/business card paper. I would head first to joanne or a bead store for the other. Of course I have no idea truly just talking at this early hour.

  2. Pingback: Reorganizing and regrouping « Digging out of the stash

Leave a Reply

