Socks and a vacancy

I dug out my ladybug socks again today and realized that I probably could’ve just bound them off on Sunday and they would’ve been fine (and given me another 250+ yards for September).  I knit a round or two today and then measured them and they were plenty long enough in the leg.  So, October’s off to a banging start with those finished.

I’ve started another tea cozy because I only have one and could use a back up.  I’m trying to switch up my tea drinking and have moved my pot o’ tea to the afternoon rather than the morning.  I was largely skipping breakfast in favor of tea, which is probably not the best plan.  So, tea is now my middle of the afternoon perk (without the “perk” since it’s decaf tea, but whatever.  it’s a cheerful spot in the day).  The cozy is pictured here, but I just frogged it because I’m not happy with how those first few rows look.  On the suggestion of one of the Ravelry posters, I’ve used some graph paper and written out the rows to better maintain the mistake rib correctly.  We’ll see how that works out.

I’m currently reading The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling.  I’m listening to (funnily enough) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – the version read by Stephen Fry.  I think Jim Dale does a better variety of voices, but I definitely prefer Fry’s Hermione.  I think Dale’s Hermione is too whiny.  I do like that Fry has access to an echo chamber effect, so the Howler from Ron’s mom (re: flying the car to school) gets more oomph.

Are you reading along with Ginny?   Do you use Goodreads?  I’ve been using it more and more, usually paired with a small notebook I now try to keep in my purse.  I’ve been writing down the titles of books that seem interesting (I added a bunch today after making a list from the copies of Entertainment Weekly in the doctor’s office) and then I have ideas of what to read when I’m wandering the library.    Since the library has free wifi, I can access my Goodreads list from my ipod and suddenly have new things to consider.  Yay technology!

Oh – the picture.  What’s a blog post without a picture?  Boring, that’s what.

 

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Socks and a vacancy

  1. heathermama says:

    those socks look great. i have never made a tea cozy, hmmm maybe i should try. so how is JK’s new book????

  2. ameyknits says:

    It’s not supernatural (so far?). definitely not adult harry potter, other than that it’s set in england. it’s early going, still, with character defining happening and explaining connections. I’m having to double back occasionally to remember who is who, but I think that’s my problem not hers.

Leave a Reply

