7 things and a book

You know how I’ve been posting about that mystery shawl?  That thing has been a lesson in patience, attention to detail, and determination.  Every time I opt to not count my stitches, it turns out I’ve missed an increase somewhere and I don’t notice for 3 more rows and have to rip back.  I’m on my third day of working one particular row with bobbles.  It’s only row 42 of 124.  I haven’t yet finished the section that was supposed to be done by the 13th.  My copy of the pattern has notes and cross outs on it (in addition to “re-cross out” – where I’ve crossed off the row number, but then rip back and have to reknit it, so I draw a circle next to the row number so I can cross it out AGAIN).  It’s personal growth or something, right?

So, here’s a picture:

This week’s book is The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King.  It’s part of his “Gunslinger” or “Dark Tower” series, but is largely a fairy type tale.  The bulk of the story is Roland telling the others a story and I’m enjoying it.  Normally when I get another book from a series I like, I’ll reread the series up to that point to get caught back up, but I didn’t this time.  King’s books feature a fantastic web of interconnectedness that can be just amazing.  I’m no where near a King “scholar” but I enjoy making the connections when I find them.

Are you reading along with Ginny?

I’ve also nearly finished another Milo vest.  The ends aren’t woven in yet, but everything else is done.  It’s another thing for the donation bag which I need to actually mail soon.  It’s hard to think about it being cold somewhere when it’s still over 90F here.

7 things I’m thankful for:

  1. knowing how to “tink” back knitting.  there was a time when I couldn’t and I’d just pull the whole thing apart and start way back at the beginning again.  thankfully I was just knitting dishcloths at that time.
  2. email
  3. 3-hole punches
  4. our modern banking system
  5. DVDs
  6. binder clips
  7. lego
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7 things and a book

  1. woolythymes says:

    it’s going to be worth the ripping/heartache!! it’s gorgeous.

    • ameyknits says:

      here’s hoping. I brought it to knit night last night and messed up again, so there’s a half finished row in my bag waiting to get sorted out or tinked back.

  2. kathy says:

    Got to say that the things you are thankful are unexpected and making me think! Yours are not the expected but really practical.

    My mom says she likes the 1920s (as portrayed on television) but I always remind her of women’s (nonexistent) rights back then. Your lists remind me of the differences between the ideal-imaginatory and actuality.

    • ameyknits says:

      When the list is going to have to be so long (even with some repeats), I wanted to give real thought to some of the things we don’t really think about. Things that make life (generally) easier and we’d really miss if we were without them (like city trash pickup!). Plus fun things, because while they’re not life changing, they’re still a good thing. Maybe I should’ve used a title more like “7 good things” – binder clips would’ve made more sense there 🙂

Leave a Reply

