Yarn Along 2013/2

Clearly I still haven’t come up with a better way to keep track of the weeks.  On the plus side we have hot water.  On the minus side I came down with the drippy, hacking cold just in time to go back to school.  Bleh.

Also on the plus side: pictures for the yarn along this week!  A homeschooling friend organized a trip to Ro Ho En – the Japanese Friendship Garden here in the desert.  I had the forethought to pack the camera, my knitting and my ereader and figured I’d find some place to take a picture for the blog.  You might as well ignore the knitting because the setting is too lovely.

Knitting with waterfall

Knitting with waterfall and trees

DSC_5183

Those first two are basically the same picture I realize now, but I’m leaving them up there.  You can see the waterfall and the stone beach (rather than sand).    The bottom one is from the bridge.  The resident ducks and koi have learned that people will feed them there, so they swarm the water under the bridge as soon as people step foot on it.  The docents gave the kids a basket full of cheerios to feed the animal much to their glee.

After the garden, Thing 1 and I ran an errand (Thing 2 went home with a friend so he could make hockey practice) and then we had an early dinner at MacAlpines.    Burgers and fancy drinks – delish!  Then we picked up DH’s grandparents who’ve flown out to spend the winter in the desert (like the Canada geese, but far tidier and quieter).   Despite a rough start to our day, overall it was a good one.

I’m currently reading A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin.  I managed to finish A Game of Thrones before it was due largely because several of the pages at the end were really appendices with information about the different houses.   So, now I have a little less than 2 weeks to finish Kings.   I’ve already put the third one on hold because there’s always a wait for these books.  I’m still listening to Size 12 and Ready to Rock, mostly because I have been reading Kings before I go to sleep rather than my usual habit of listening to a book while I play solitaire 🙂

The knitting there is a cowl I’m knitting to use up a small ball of bulky yarn.  I had started with a lace pattern, but it was completely lost in all the colors of that yarn.  I ripped it out and now I’m doing a simple chevron rib.  I don’t know how well that’s actually going to show up either, but that I won’t rip out.  It’ll be “good enough.”  I’m still working on the socks (although currently they’re lost – I think they might be under the mountain of unfolded laundry on my couch right now).

Do you have laundry piled up somewhere because you’re busy reading or making?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along 2013/2

  1. Heather says:

    The gardens look lovely. I really must plan a visit there. And you have been busy even with a drippy nose!

    • ameyknits says:

      They were lovely. I need to post the pictures I took. The tour was maybe a half hour – the space isn’t that large.
      They also invite volunteers early on Saturday mornings – you help tidy the garden and then can stay and wander the paths.

Leave a Reply

