Yarn Along 2013: Week 4

The past week has been a time of change, at least knitting-wise.  That white cabled hat I showed last week?  I ran out of yarn, so I ripped it back completely.   Those green socks?  I realized about half way up the foot that I was using two different sized needles (one on the top, one on the bottom), so I switched out the smaller one and continued on.  Turns out I liked the smaller one better, so I’ll need to rip those back for several rows.  Way back in August I knit most of a baby surprise jacket.  I went to seam up the whole thing with this i-cord bind off and managed to mess that up fantastically.  I’m sure there was a way to try to rip some of it back and redo it, but I was in a “go back to the beginning” kind of mood, so I ripped it all back.  Of course, that yarn was then a wavy mess (some of it had been when I started because it had originally been used for a pair of socks).  I steamed out the wrinkles, though and now I have “good enough” yarn to use again.

So, lots of steps backwards.  Any forward progress?  Oh sure.  I’ve finished the bulk of the body of that red baby sweater I was knitting and have started the edging (and then I’ll need to do the sleeves).  I’ve also started a new book since last week.  I’m reading the third “Song of Fire and Ice” book: A Storm of Swords.  I finally finished the audiobook of Size 12 and Ready to Rock over a huge load of dishes.  Tonight I started Practical Demonkeeping by Christopher Moore.  I’ve read it before, but I wanted something to listen to while dealing with yet another massive load of dishes and Moore came to mind.

With only a week left in January, I really need to make a plan for my knitting and get organized.  I’ve been feeling a bit “all over the place” and while cleaning up my desk this afternoon I realized that I need a list.  I enjoy making lists and I haven’t done one in a while.  I’ve been trying to hold several things in my head and that generally doesn’t work – something always gets forgotten.  Tomorrow will be spent (in addition to regular life) making some lists and getting more organized.   Between DH and me, I’m the cluttermonster but I’m beginning to feel that some order would be welcome.

Oh wait – pictures!

First: the frogged yarn.  You can still see some of the waves, but mostly it’s smooth and straight again.  I followed the directions someone on Ravelry posted.  You take a deep frying pan and fill it with water.  Bring it to a boil and then set a cooling rack (like for cookies) on the top.  Put the yarn on the rack and watch the wrinkles wiggle!  It was pretty fun and I should’ve taken pictures of the progress. Freshly straightened yarn

Next: the red sweater.  This isn’t all that fantastic to look at, but it’s some forward progress.  The lime green yarn is holding the sleeve stitches on hold.  I’m not exactly sure how that white is going to look around the edges, but I’m giving it a try for right now.  I’ll be happy if it’s done at the end of the month.  I have no real plan for it – I may end up posting it on Facebook and seeing if anyone wants it.  If not, I’ll add it to the donation bag.

Red Hula sweaterWhat I WANT to knit right now (and may start at knitting night tomorrow despite the heckling I know I’ll get) is the Damien hat from Hip Knit Hats.

Are you reading and crafting along with Ginny?   Do you like lists?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along 2013: Week 4

  1. Heather says:

    Um. Are those beads? I love lists too. I need to make a good one for our newest trip. Since it is shorter, but involves a whole lot of drive time, I am stuck on what to bring. I love that you knit so much for others. It balances my knitting out.

  2. ameyknits says:

    Oh yes. PONY BEADS. Bring on the heckling.

  3. Interesting way to de-wrinkle yarn. My family was always good in frogging old sweaters to make something new of them (of course noone ever did, we just frogged and de-wrikled it and last year I kind of inherited all those skeins that used to be sweaters) and what we do is: we frog the knitting and wrap the wool tightly around a plastic cutting board. Now you make the wool on the board wet and set it to dry next to the heating. Gets your wool completely straight again.

Leave a Reply

