Yarn Along 2013: Week 5.

I kept thinking about taking pictures today, but it was too sunny or I was too busy, or life got in the way.  It’s just narration this week – like a grown up book or something.

Last week I talked about ripping back those green socks just a few rows.  Instead, I tore them all the way back.  I went to start them again with the smaller needles and could only find one of the two needles I needed.  I looked in multiple places, sent out a plea on Facebook (had I lent it to someone?), and then gave up and ordered a new one.  In the meantime, I’ll start a different pair of socks out of some Christmas yarn.

I also mentioned ripping back the white cabled hat.  I’ve reknit that into beaded cap using the Damien pattern (oh yes – those are pony beads).  I’ve finished the body of the red sweater and now need to work on the arms.  I don’t know that it will be finished tomorrow, but who knows.

As part of the Yarn Along with Ginny, I should probably also mention what I’m reading.  I’m still reading A Clash of Kings  and listening to Practical Demonkeeping.    In case you’re also interested in what the boys are reading, Thing 2 is listening to The Bellmaker by Brian Jacques (part of the Redwall series).  Thing 1 is re-listening to Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy, I think.  That one was part of the Audiobook Sync Free Summer audiobook series.  We found some new things that way, and it was a great thing.  I like that now they’ve posted “if you liked that, try this” suggestions.

I’m still trying to work from my stash as much as I can.  Despite how many pairs of socks/things knit from sock yarn I still have loads left, so knitting that up is still a goal.  There is also the bazillion skeins of red cotton-ease I have hoarded up, and the half-finished Everyday Cardigan I was hoping to finish last year.  I’m still hoping.  Eish.  My yardage this month hasn’t been very high, but I think it’s been an organizational month.  Maybe this means that next month will be high because several things will be finished.  I could hope 😉

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along 2013: Week 5.

  1. pooch2 says:

    Sounds like you are making headway working through your stash. A red sweater sounds like a perfect project for the sometimes gray days at this time of year. Thanks so much for visiting my blog! I neglected to include the my current reading (yikes!) which is BEAUTIFUL RUINS by Jess Walter and BECOMING QUEEN by Kate Williams.

    Looking forward to seeing your pics next time!

    🙂

  2. MotherOwl says:

    You paint pictures with your words, and I look forwards to seeing these projecs through a camera lense once they’re done.
    With all that stash-bashing I’d recommend you tojoin in on Crunchy Catholic Momma’s Stash Bashing Thursdays as well 😉

  3. Heather says:

    Kudos to the stashdown. I noticed when packing for our recent leave, that I have amassed a new stash. Worried about the size of the whole thing once I am reunited with my storage stash. Eamon and I started Redwall. He was reluctant to start it, so we began it together. Hoping he enjoys it enough to run with it (that usually happens when I think he will like one that he is convinced he won’t )

Leave a Reply

