Yarn Along 2013: Week 7

The daytime schedule was relatively successful here today.  It involved more work on my part, and it is very likely in a “honeymoon” phase, but I’ll take it for now.    Tomorrow and Friday we have shorter lists of things to do, so that will be nice.   There is definitely something to be said for starting something on a Wednesday.  You only have to get thru half a week, and generally the “downhill” half, before you get a 2 day break.  We’ll see how next Monday goes.

My friend Melinda started this month saying she wanted to finish all the “in progress” books on her Goodreads list.   I didn’t really give this goal much thought because many of my “in progress” books are books I chose to not finish, often because I disliked the book.   My loan of A Feast for Crows ended yesterday, leaving me with no print book to read, so I decided to go back to my list of unfinished books.  I know some of them are there because I started them as audiobooks and found I disliked listening to the book.  I went to the oldest thing, discovered the library had it as an ebook, and downloaded it.  It’s better in print than audio (a narrator issue – I didn’t care for her voice or inflection or something).  I’m reading Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips which is basically about several Greek gods and goddesses living together in a flat in modern day London.  They moved in when housing prices were really low – after the Great Fire.  I’m still listening to The Island of the Sequined Love Nun and enjoying it.  That narrator does wonderful voices.

grey, like the weatherI’m working on those socks that have appeared in the past couple of postings.  I’m nearly ready to start the gussets.  I didn’t know if I’d like the brown, but it’s growing on me.  I do like the grey and red.  Under that is a cowl I finished recently.  I started knitting it because the designer had posted saying that anyone who started and finished it by a certain date would get another cowl pattern of hers for free.  I quite liked that other one, so I put the socks down and started banging out this cowl.  Of course, I didn’t read the requirements closely enough, and ended up finishing it an hour too late.  I could’ve finished it on time, but instead I was being a grown up and doing housekeeping rather than knitting for much of the afternoon.  Oh well.  Serves me right for choosing to clean rather than knit?

The boys are constantly listening to audiobooks.  Thing 1 is listening to The Restaurant at the End of the Universe and Thing 2 is listening to Anne of Green Gables for a book club (and enjoying it).

I’ve realized that I need to keep Goodreads open in a tab while I read the blogs linked on Ginny’s Yarn Along, because I frequently see books I might enjoy.  Thank you all for posting about books!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 7

  1. Heather says:

    I find that keeping Goodreads open is a good thing or else the library website where I put things on hold. Did you know you can freeze your holds. You still move up in the queue, but when you hit #1 you just sit there. When you are ready for the book unfreeze the hold and voila it is yours.

Talk to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.