Yarn Along 2013: Week 8

Today I learned a new word: graupel.

It was in the 70s here yesterday.  Today, though, it cooled off dramatically, rain was forecast, and I was quite honestly looking forward to a lovely grey day (especially after waking to the rain in the middle of the night – there’s just something cozy about a rainy night).  We had arranged for Thing 2 to take a class at our local science center: rattlesnake dissection.  Armed with our umbrella and older clothes (what with the risk of mess) we headed down.

The class went very well, and it was raining on our way out.  While merging from one highway onto another, I noticed “white stuff” on the ground at the base of some trees and after initially thinking “snow!” (hey – I’m from the northeast), I decided it must be hail.  On our drive home, there were signs warning of icy conditions.   Icy conditions!  It was crazypants.  Shortly after getting home, this happened: Graupel!It’s not fantastic photography, but you can see stuff falling from the sky, plus the stuff on the ground.  Initially we assumed it was hail.  It seemed to get softer, while still remaining basically spherical.  Turns out it wasn’t snow, it wasn’t hail – it was graupel.  Fun stuff!

I managed to get a picture of my current WIP with the weather:

Frozen socksYou might have to make the pictures bigger to see them better.   Those are still the socks.  I have started the gussets.  My knitting time has been a bit reduced since I have been working harder on keeping Thing 1 on task.  Tomorrow is my “stitch and bitch” evening, so hopefully I can manage to be productive there.

In addition to the knitting, I’ve also been reading like Ginny.  I’ve been listening to The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove by Christopher Moore.   I put my ebook of Gods Behaving Badly aside at some point (I forget why now) and started reading Gone Girl.  I’m completely sucked in, so I’m continuing.  Gods will wait for me ’til later.

As for the boys, Thing 2 is listening to Salamandastron by Brian Jacques.  Thing 1 has several books on his mp3 player and I can’t be certain what exactly he’s listening to.  He’s recently downloaded Airman by Eoin Colfer (of Artemis Fowl fame), Cold Cereal by Adam Rex, and The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along 2013: Week 8

  1. Heather says:

    I have Gone Girl on holds at the library. I think I am crazy number 181 out of 253 or something like that. I heard about the weather – graupel – good word. Here I travel to the mid-atlantic region for weather and I could have stayed home.

  2. Anke says:

    I think I made socks using the same yarn, is it from JoAnn’s? It reminds me of a sock monkey… 😉

Leave a Reply

