Yarn Along 2013: Week 10

We said goodbye to the second round of houseguests today – DH’s mom has been here for a week.  She stayed with us and made a few visits to see her folks who live nearby.  She went with us to the Natural Bridge, we went to the Science Center, she babysat while DH and I had a night out, she got to see Thing 2 play baseball and hockey.  A relatively full week.

On our way home from the airport, we stopped at the library and picked up some books.  This particular branch has a small non-fiction section, but Thing 1 was still able to get a small stack of comic strip collections, and I found a couple knitting books that look interesting.  There is some fiction in the pile, too, mostly for Thing 2.

Books and bluesOn the left we have Scary School, The Serpent’s Shadowa Captain Underpants book (Thing 2 wandered off with that after I took the picture), and then 5 Zits collections.  On the right: Bloodsucking Fiends (my next audiobook), Leprechaun in Late Winter, Hiss Me Deadly, Erak’s Ransom, The Knitter’s Life List, and Continuous Cables.

Hiss Me Deadly is part of a series starring Chet Gecko, Private Eye.  The titles are all puns (?) of various old films.  Chet solves mysteries set in his elementary school – both of my boys have liked them.  Thing 2 saw the leprechaun book in a library display of Irish/St. Patrick’s Day things.  He was a little hesitant to take it.  I’m not sure if it’s because he thinks those books are too easy now, or because it was part of a display (I assured him they were displayed so that people might check them out – to show patrons books they might not know about or whatever), but he finally decided to take it.  He’s the one reading the Ranger’s Apprentice books, too.  He’s read that whole series already, but is re-reading it – possibly out of desperation for something to read.  The Riordan book is his, and he also wants it on audiobook, but it’s not available yet so we’ll have to keep an eye out for that.

I’m still listening to The Stupidest Angel (had I started that last week?), and I’ve been ignoring my print book.  I don’t know if I am getting burnt out on it, or it just keeps getting left in non-reading places.  Either way, I’m sure it expires soon and I need to either finish it or move on to something else.

Since we got home from the airport/library/lunch/grocery store quick stop trip today, I’ve largely been a zombie.  I had grander plans for the day; there is a farmer’s market that we  “should’ve” stopped at, and Thing 1 wants to try on skinny jeans and get more t-shirts that “feel right,” and an old friend is in town for a week with her kids and wants to meet up.  I stopped at the library because it was RIGHT off the highway on the drive home and Thing 2 has been waiting for Erak’s Ransom to come in.  We sort of needed to hit the grocery store so that we could get milk and something that would work for Thing 2’s “dinner in the car between sporting events” for tonight (it’ll be a sandwich, most likely, but we had exhausted our sandwich things with the picnic we took to the Natural Bridge).  There was a place to have lunch near the grocery store, so I parked between them both and took care of those things.  Going to Target to negotiate clothing with Thing 1 seemed like more than I wanted to manage, the extra stop of the farmer’s market was one more in-and-out of the car, and having to be “on” while visiting was just not what I wanted to do.  So, I sent a text message explaining my lameness and asking forgiveness and the chance to reschedule (thankfully we didn’t have firm plans – they were going to be hanging out at the pool for the afternoon and did we want to come play?).  I was feeling a bit “overstimulated” and we have more company coming in a week.

As much as I’d like to try to get some schooling done in the next several days, I think I may end up scrapping it all.  May and June Me will curse March Me, but whatever.  Tomorrow maybe we’ll read books, or go to the park nearby, or play board games and then Friday involves appointments.   We’ll all have a little down-time before we become the “hosts with the most” next week.  I just hope I’m not setting myself up for several days of video game whining.  Bleh.

How do you manage “re-entry” from vacations or company?

ETA: I completely forgot to mention the knitting!  That’s the same blue/green yarn from the failed Baby Surprise Jacket that I de-kinked a few weeks ago.  I’m now using it to make an infant sized Sock Yarn Sweater.  Much like the red and white sweater that is still in progress, I’m not exactly sure who this is for.  My mom mentioned that an elementary school friend is having her first baby and would I make something for her (her, the friend.  The baby’s gender is still unknown to the outside world).  If I get it finished before she leaves (she’s the next house guest), then she can take it back with her.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 10

  1. Heather says:

    Oh no! Your future me is hating the current me. I suffer the same. Re-entry is a tough one it seems. Perhaps because I am an introvert at heart and need my quiet time to refuel. We usually just take it easy for a day or two. Love the stack of books.

Leave a Reply

