Yarn Along 2013: Week 11

I was going to post a pictureless entry because I didn’t take a picture all day, and the camera is upstairs and random other excuses.  Then I remembered that I got a fancy new phone for my birthday, so I took a quick picture here on the couch and now I have an actual image for my dear readers – those of you joining Ginny and those of you just along for the ride.

Astray and the catThis is the view to the left of me: the ridiculously noisy cat, my current book, and the baby sweater/shirt I’m working on.   I’ve finished the body and just need to make the sleeves.

Astray has been delightful.  It’s a collection of short stories, all built from some true story from mostly American history.  The author explains the connection at the end of each story – it’s that bit that makes the book really fascinating.  The stories are lovely, but knowing they’re based on fact makes them evening more interesting.  I’ve gotten glimpses into all different aspects of history: the Orphan Trains, Jumbo the elephant’s transfer from London to the US, the Gold Rush.  Many of them are written as first person narratives, and Donoghue is able to make each voice unique and to echo the speech patterns of the times.

I’m listening to Bloodsucking Fiends.  Christopher Moore has a different way with language than Emma Donoghue, and that’s quite alright.  I just made it past this line: “Tommy had decided to decorate the loft in a Pier 1 Imports cheap-shit motif. As a result it was only a ceiling fan and a cockatoo away from looking like a Thai cathouse.”  It made me laugh out loud while I was doing the dishes.

In other news, I had a birthday on Monday.  Thing 2 and DH went and saw Green Day in concert, and I accepted a friend’s offer to keep Thing 1 overnight (he was eager to go), and had a quiet evening home alone.    I opted to not do anything productive around the house with that time, what with it being my birthday and all.

The house is almost back to (our version of) rights after my weekend of non-compliance 😉  The laundry is mostly clean and folded, the dishes are done, etc.  Good thing, since my mom flies in tomorrow afternoon.  Tomorrow morning and early afternoon will be spent doing the priority work.  I need to make that list.

Are you a steady housekeeper, or a last minute scrambler?

 

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn Along 2013: Week 11

  1. Heather says:

    You have seen my home, what do you think? curious the impression I give…

    • ameyknits says:

      It looks like how I expect a house full of children to look. I just assume OTHER PEOPLE expect show room quality all the time, and I can’t provide that.

  2. pictfamily says:

    I can’t even begin to describe the chaos that seems to engulf my home. Apparently “collapse into disorder is the spring of the universe,” but I can’t remember where I read that!

Leave a Reply

