Yarn Along 2013: Week 13

I’m not a particular fan of desert living.  I miss autumn in the northeast.  I like wooly things to wear.  I’ve been noticing, though, that spring has come to the desert.  The past couple of days my surroundings have become filled with green and gold (the hardest hues to hold?).  So, I went out today with the camera and took some pictures of the colors.

I’m trying this whole gallery thing again.  Hopefully it’ll work.  It was a lovely walk – I really need to start walking again.  (note from me after I previewed: Oh hey look – if you mouse over the pictures you can see my captions).

I’m still working on the green socks from last week.  I want them to be finished, but I also keep considering setting them aside to make something out of this:

Lemongrass sock yarnIt reminds me so much of what I’m seeing outside that I want to drag it out of the bin and cast on RIGHT NOW.  I thought about it yesterday and today.  I’m pretty sure I want to use it to make a multnomah shawl (that’s the pdf link).  I don’t know what I’ll do with it, but it’s a little bit of lace, loads of garter stitch, and this yarn is supposed to be terrific (STR mediumweight).  Soon.

I’m reading something new.  I don’t know if I mentioned it, but one of the library branches had a bunch of wrapped up books earlier this month.  It was their take on March Madness or something – you were taking a risk with the book (you have no idea what’s inside until you check it out).  I got The King of Sting  which is a true crime kind of thing.  I’m not thrilled with it, but I feel some sort of obligation to finish it.  We’ll see if that happens.  I’m listening to It by Stephen King.  I’ve read it before, but it’s been so long that I’ve forgotten most of the story (other than the clown, obviously).  As much as it can be annoying to forget things I’ve read, it does make them “like new” again.

What does spring look like where you are (or where you want to be)?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

