Yarn Along 2013: Week 16

I considered waiting to take the picture for today’s Yarn Along until I had actually finished these socks.  When I started working on them today, I measured and found I only needed another 3/4 inch for them to be done, which works out to 8 rounds for me.  You would think I’d be able to get 8 rounds done while it’s still daylight out, but who knows.  

socks and cupcakes and lists

Wow.  That photo is really washed out when it’s on a white blog page.  Sorry about that.  If you click on it, you can see things better.  I’ll work from the top down.

I’m listening to It, which just expired again, so I’m waiting my turn.  This morning I was thinking to myself, “I should really put that on hold on one of the kids’ cards so that I won’t have to wait very long for it.  It should be expiring soon.”  Yeah.  Guess I was right.  Steven Weber is the narrator and he’s fantastic.

I’m finishing the green socks.  They’ll be done today and then I’ll move on to some other WIP.  I’m not sure that’s the entire list – I didn’t get out all the bins and search for unfinished things.

I’m reading How to Eat a Cupcake.  The chapters alternate in voice between two women.  So far I’m mostly enjoying it.  They’ve taken turns making allusions to some big secret (a different one for each), which gets tiresome after a while.  One has been revealed and the hints about the other are getting bigger and bigger, but I wish the author would just get on with it already.  I flipped to the back and am a little surprised to see a book with this title (and regular mentions of cupcake flavors) lacks any recipes for cupcakes.  Now I want cake.

The bottom sheet is Thing 2’s list of work for today.  I don’t know if you’re interested in a glimpse into our homeschooling day, but there it is.  You can see some of his assignments, and you can see the beginning of the schedule we use.  I’ve included subjects, but I generally don’t care in what order things are done.  When we do science experiments that require all of us (like this week’s frog dissection), I ask that we pick a time slot for that they can both agree on (and sometimes I simply tell them when we’ll do it).  Many things they can do one at a time.  We only got the one frog, so they both had to be present.

I review their stuff at the end of the day (or the middle of the day if I’m really organized) and take notes on the list.  Then I can write up the next day’s list.  When I’m organized, I have those lists all printed at night.  Some days are long and busy, and I make the new list without having checked the old one.  I’ve started putting “yesterday’s” stuff in italics so they know what they should’ve done and can double check (at least in theory).  Or, as I check yesterday’s stuff, they still have a record of what was assigned.  That’s handy when they need to re-read something to answer a question again, or when doing map labeling.  They still have access to the old list.

I dislike the paper usage.  I use Homeschool Skedtrack to help me organize things.  Earlier this school year, I was letting the boys access their lists and mark things off using HS’s online lists.  That, however, led to the boys constantly sitting at the computer and arguing over which “user” on the computer they should use to access the lists, and so on.   When they were younger we used white boards, which were mildly successful.  The lists are longer now, so the white boards won’t work.  Which brings me back to paper.  The backsides are reused as scrap paper, for grocery lists, etc.

Wow.  Three paragraphs on schoolwork lists.  How dull.   I’ll leave you with this: http://www.groundcoveraz.com/index.html  A local artist is coordinating a massive blanket project where the assembled blankets will form a picture.  The blankets will then be distributed to the homeless.   If you’re interested in making a blanket, contact Ann.   I think I want to do one, but need to see if I can find people to help me out.

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 16

  1. Taryn Oakley says:

    I love that colorway! Thanks for your comment on my blog about your son. I hope that we can keep in touch and share ideas and tips?

Leave a Reply

