Blog Week: Day 6

4KCBWDAY6 – A Tool To Covet Write about your favourite knitting or crochet (or spinning, etc) tool. It can either be a tool directly involved in your craft (knitting needles or crochet hook) or something that makes your craft more pleasurable – be it a special lamp, or stitch markers.”

This one’s easy for me: circular needles.

I learned to knit from my grandmother on those old, colored Susan Bates aluminum straight needles.   I understood the movements and could knit as a solid beginner, but I was interested in other things.

When Thing 1 was a toddler, I started going to a “Mommy and Me” group at the local Waldorf school.  We made knitted cats for one of the parent projects and wooden needles were recommended.  Those were better – lighter and without the skritchy noise of the aluminum needles.  So, I did several things with bamboo needles (less expensive than wood) and tried double points for a while.

And then there was the day I walked into The Fiber Factory.  I was looking for a particular bamboo circular (probably for woolie pants or a soaker) and one of the employees suggested I try an Addi Turbo.   She said I should buy both the bamboo and the Addi, give them a try and bring back the one I didn’t like.  This was against their usual policy (no returns on needles – they had people who would buy a needle just to do a cuff or something and then return it).

Well, that’s like the dealer who gives you your first hit for free.  I LOVED the turbo.  I still had straight needles, though, and still used them here and there.  Then came the day when I’d been knitting while the kids played and got up to use the toilet.  While I was gone, the boys shoved the straight needles into the carpet, at about a 170 degree angle or something.  There was just a row of needle tops visible and they were quite proud.  They were also getting to the age where straight needles quickly became swords.

So, I slowly transitioned (as budget allowed) to all circular needles.  I could use them for both flat knitting and tubes.  I found knitting message boards and bought needles second hand.  I learned to knit socks with two circulars (after trying with magic loop and disliking it).   Always metal circs, and at that point, always Addi turbos (they really were better than Susan Bates and didn’t make the noise, just like the employee had said!).

Then, along came knitpicks.  Now, they’re my main circular needle.  I like their pointy tips for sock knitting, and I’ve treated myself to an interchangeable set for more options.

I have things like a niddy-noddy, a swift, a ball winder, cable needles, a row counting bracelet, etc.  You can have them all as long as I can keep my circulars.  I just wish I could find them all.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Week: Day 6

  1. Don’t you just love boys. 😉

Leave a Reply

