The porch

I have been sitting on the porch from the last post every single day since we got here.  Rain or shine, I’m sitting on the porch.  MIL’s house is a lovely size for her and SFIL with the occasional guest, but sometimes it just feels a little crowded.  So, I sit on the porch.  That area adds so much more space.  She has a small porch swing and a table (among a bazillion other things out there), so I set up camp out there: knitting, a book, my phone, tea or water (or both).  I listen to the birds and frogs, the breeze in the trees, the occasional happy noise of my kids playing together.   It’s become my place to “hide” out in the open.  I can see what’s going on, but I’m generally not bothered by anyone.  With the windows open, I can hear the family noises from inside the house.

I sit and knit and read (or listen to a book) and have little snatches of real vacation.  We have vague plans to build a screen porch off of the new house, and I’m hoping I remembered correctly that there will be room for a couple of chairs or a porch swing on the front of the house.    We’ll need bird feeders, too, I think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The porch

  1. Heather says:

    Porches are such lovely things. I am happy for you, but sad too. Eamon is all around not impressed with the news. He is sad.

Leave a Reply

