Yarn Along 2013: Week 22

I managed to finally sew the buttons on my aran tea cozy today.  I had taken the buttons with me on our trip east, but I forgot yarn needles and the ones MIL had wouldn’t work with the buttons.  I also decided to skip the “arm” ribbing after screwing up the counts for picking up stitches twice (call it sour grapes if you want; I can handle it).  You’ve basically all seen that already, so I didn’t bother to take a picture for today.

I was also powering thru on the longies that I’m making for a friend when her situation changed and now she will be using cloth diapers.  When I started, she was definitely only going to use paper diapers, so I didn’t put any short rows in the backside.  So, I’m trying to decide if I’ll rip them back and reknit them with the short rows, or just leave them.  I’m waiting to hear back from the mom about whether she thinks the cloth diapers will be a full time thing for them or more likely a part time situation.  Mostly, though, I think I’m going to have to rip them back and start all over again.

I knit a couple of rows on the socks from earlier this month, too.  Again, though, nothing new.

So, for the blog today I took a picture of yarn rather than knitting.Wallflower BBQI’m reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.  I started this last year or the year before, but never finished it.  The reading is going faster this time (maybe last time I was heavier into audiobooks?), which is good since it’s already overdue and I can’t renew it.

The yarn is what I purchased at The Needlecraft Center in North Carolina.  I alluded to the name in this post.  It’s called “Zombie BBQ” and yes, I picked it just because of the name.  I had gone in hoping to get something local (spun locally, dyed locally, whatever).  However the salesperson I talked to said that they didn’t have anything like that.  The local people who might sell things prefer to sell them directly to customers because it doesn’t make financial sense for them to wholesale them. Anyhow.  I decided to stick with the sock yarn because I knit socks, it would give me a project’s worth of yarn in a small package, and because it’s sock yarn.  🙂  I came very close to taking the “Christmas in Downton” colorway.  However, “Zombie BBQ” sealed it for me.  I figured we were in the land of barbecue, and house hunting was making me feel a bit like a zombie.  Thing 1 actually thought the colors were cool.

Have you ever picked a yarn based on the colorway name?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 22

  1. karin-ida says:

    i like the colour!
    thank you for your answer regarding yarn cakes;0)

Leave a Reply

