Yarn Along 2013: Week 23

Yesterday I spent an hour helping Thing 2 try to organize his room.  I honestly did not know how he got from the bed to the door in the middle of the night without falling over the 46546598730928 things on his floor.  The bulk of our time yesterday was spent dealing with books.

I should take a moment and explain that Thing 2 has a really hard time, generally, getting rid of things.  So many things are special to him (often for reasons only he knows) that parting with things seems to be like losing pieces of his very heart.  I try to be gentle and patient (and I did a decent clean out one day when he was at a playdate – I swear I only threw away broken stuff and obvious trash – he hasn’t asked about anything that I threw out).  I know this move will be challenging for him in this regard, and the fact that DH and I have been giving away/selling things adds to his low level anxiety.

Yesterday, however, he was in a good mood or something.  We went thru all his picture books and he aggressively got rid of things.  There were books I made him keep (The Mysteries of Harris Burdick?  You’re keeping that.  Ditto anything with an inscription) and he was amenable to those requests.  There were books he wanted to keep, and we kept all of his chapter books.  In the end, we boxed up two quite large boxes of books.   He was also willing to throw out a book that completely lacked structural integrity (we found about 4 pages of it).  I considered it a very successful pass thru his room.  There is still a LOT of work to be done (and when I talk about his dresser, he has told me that while we can take out clothes that don’t fit them, we can’t actually give them away – baby steps?).

books and a blockThis is a pretty lousy picture, but I thought Thing 2’s efforts should be recognized a little.  You can see my current knitting in there.  It’s a “block” for the Ground Cover AZ Public Art Project.  The blocks are all supposed to be 10×10 inches, and I’m concerned that this one is too narrow.  If it is, I’ll beef it up with a little crochet on the sides.

I’m linking up with Ginny over at Small Things again this week.   She posts about reading and knitting every Wednesday.  You’ve seen the lousy picture of my knitting (it’s a basketweave stitch – you’re not missing a whole lot).  Let’s move on to reading.  My print book right now is Summer and Bird by Katherine Catmull.  Someone who participates in the Yarn Along mentioned it and I added it to my Goodreads queue.  I found it at the library this week and am a bit entranced with it.  It’s from the children’s section, but don’t let that dissuade you from considering it.  I’m probably only 25 pages in, so who knows if my opinion will change.   My audiobook is Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers by Louise Rennison.  It’s book 6 in a series, which really should be read in order because they’re diary entries.  I’ve read them before and they’re wonderfully funny.  These books are “yound adult” and the language is FANTASTIC.   The writing isn’t going to win a literary award or anything, but it’s been a nice place to “rest” from It and A Feast for Crows (yeah, still unfinished, still waiting for my turn from the library AGAIN).

Do you have any tips for helping the reluctant to purge things?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 23

  1. Alicia in New Zealand says:

    Hello, I too have one who has a hard time letting go. To help her we made a folder on iphoto with her name. Then every time we need to purge she lines up or other ways “styles” the items and takes a few photos. She writes captions and is happy. She will now say that she needs to take a photo of something because she needs to get rid of it. The first few times there were tears but progress was made!

Leave a Reply

