Yarn Along 2013: Week 24

I’m hanging out at the hockey rink again.  I’ve corrected Thing 2’s work (Thing 1 has been… let’s say “less than productive” lately), started a list of things to do over the rest of this week, and talked to some parents.  Thing 2 is here for 3 on 3 hockey (and was here this morning for a hockey skills camp).

I’m pretty sure I’ve posted about it before, but I really am thankful for hockey and how it has helped my boys increase their feelings of independence and competence.  It has helped me feel more comfortable with leaving them places, too.  The rink is, generally, a safe place.  There are multiple adults here that they know, they are familiar with the building, they can manage their equipment.  They’ve made friends and have learned from different people.  They’ve had brushes with fame (a former NHL player is a coach) as have I (there was that time that Ricky Schroeder was here – I ended up calling my SIL one evening to have a whispered conversation with her about it.  My brother was completely disinterested).

Anyway.  I’m here, avoiding making dinner and getting some things done.  I am yarning along with Ginny again.  I mentioned a couple weeks ago that I was thinking about making a list here on the blog of books I’ve read this year and decided to do it earlier this week.  I relied on Goodreads for the list, so there’s a chance I missed something, but I’d consider it pretty accurate.   Currently I’m reading: The Penny Pinchers Club by Sarah Strohmeyer, Summer and Bird by Katherine Catmull, and Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips.  I’m listening to Stop in the Name of Pants by Louise Rennison (more Georgia Nicolson) because it’s easy to listen to.    Those are Goodreads links – nothing that I’m making money on.

gods and cablesThis was taken with my phone and it always seems like the size of these phone pictures is weird – you can click it to make it bigger. I could post bigger pictures but I never know if people would prefer smaller ones so that the page loads faster?  Anyway.  You can see my Nook with Gods on it.  The stitch pattern for the square is “Cable Fabric” from the 365 Knitting Stitches a Year (a perpetual calendar).  I’m nearly done with it and will have to decide if I’ll do another in this pattern or something new.  The first one I did was a basketweave.

We’re cleaning out more stuff.  I gutted the “junk drawers” (yes, plural – I had THREE in the kitchen) the other day, and today I picked up some boxes from someone who just moved to the area.  I need to get some more because most of what I brought home are boxes we don’t exactly need (8 wardrobe boxes?).  This week I’m hoping to get rid of the stuff I’ve been posting on FB (some things I’m selling, some I’m giving away).  I had hoped people would come and pick it up, but right about now I just need it out of the house, so I’m going to drop it off.

What things do you consider precious/important/whatever enough that if you were moving, those things would ride with you in your car rather than in the moving van?

Oh, and for anyone who stops in here from Ginny’s, thank you 🙂  I try to read all the posts over the course of the week.  You’ve helped me add SO many books and patterns to my queues and I thank you for it.  I also enjoy getting small glimpses into your lives.

 

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 24

  1. mistea says:

    Lovely square. The red looks lovely and cables are always gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

