Yarn Along 2013: Week 26

Holy crow this has been a busy week and it’s not over yet.  Yesterday was Thing 2’s birthday (10!) and he spent it at a combination ice hockey- waterpark camp.  I spent the day getting things done around the house like washing all the pool towels and gutting the pantry.

one clean pantry That bin on the bottom right is the recycling.  I found all kinds of things living in the pantry.  I should’ve cleaned the shelves while I was at it, but really it was a big job without that.  I found cans of evaporated milk that expired in 2011.

Mind you, I should be packing more stuff.  I make lists.  Long lists.  And then I decide to do things like make granola bars.

granola barsBecause toasting individual ingredients in the oven causing it to run most of the day in the summer in Phoenix is an excellent idea.

I spent today at appointments.  More rounds of “the last time we’ll…” I spent the early evening on a conference call (that had at least 50 people on it – thankfully most of them were just listening) that was frustrating at times.  An organization I support is in a time of change and it’s a challenging experience.

I managed to get a knitting shot in before the phone call:

bobbles and booksOn the left is another one of my blanket squares – a berry stitch this time.  I opted to start something new this morning so that I didn’t have to carry around that large skein of yarn for a square that’s almost finished (or to bind off and start again out of the house).  Instead, I brought the sock yarn on the right and started a simple mug cozy.  I don’t know if there’s enough in that little ball, but I think I have more leftover.

I’m reading We Were the Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates.  I’m listening to Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris (a “re-listen”) before I start the new book.

Okay.  I’m exhausted.    Adios.

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

