Yarn Along 2013: Week 27

I’m sure you’ll be thrilled to hear that Thing 1 is healthy again.  Generally I am the person who handles the sick kids (especially gastro illnesses, but I’m also the emergency room/urgent care person), but this was a 2 person job.  I won’t elaborate anymore because you lovely people may very well be reading this over a lovely cup of tea or lunch or something.  I’m mildly worried I’ll come down with it tomorrow since it’s a holiday, but hopefully not.  I’ve washed my hands a LOT.

I meant to take a picture earlier today, but I got caught up in some mild chaos (that I was dealing with electronically) and ignored it.  I did get a few more simple things accomplished that were on my to-do list (let’s not talk about packing.  oh wait – this meant I didn’t have to pack something, so I suppose that’s good enough?).  I took this picture this evening after the kids were in bed and DH had left for late night hockey.

a tea tray on the counter

The colors aren’t that bad here (the tray is whiter).  I tried a couple different settings hoping for passable results in the artificial light.  This was the “food” setting.  You can see my current knitting: another square for the charity blanket.  I’ve used this pattern before in a different color; I used it this time because I didn’t have to do any math/swatching to get the right size and sometimes you just need easy.  I didn’t include a book in the picture because my print books are upstairs and I didn’t want to go get them (again: easy).  Instead you can see the pot of tea I just made (decaf, natch).  I make a pot almost every day and sometimes twice depending on my mood.  You can see that I do use the mug and pot cozies I make.  The pot cozy definitely keeps the tea hotter longer.

What am I reading?  Glad you asked.  On audio I have Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris (the last Sookie Stackhouse book).  In print, I’m reading Kindred Spirits by Sarah Strohmeyer and We Were the Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates.  I’ll admit that I put “Mulvaneys” down because I was getting annoyed by all the allusions to the big problem without actually mentioning it.  Oh!  And I just downloaded the ebook of A Dance with Dragons by George RR Martin.  I seriously doubt I’ll be finishing that in the two weeks I’ll have access to it.  I’ve been listening to more audiobooks lately because they allow me to “read” a book while I get other things done.

Speaking of done – I emptied out the double sized homeschooling cabinet we had (Thing 2 was out of the house – I had move quickly).  I’d been saving every.single.thing since we started homeschooling (when Thing 1 was 6-7 — he’s now 12).  Some of it was because I was convinced CPS would show up at my door and demand to see proof of what we’d been doing.  I currently live in a state without any testing or reporting requirements, and in a city with overextended CPS staff, so this is a largely unfounded fear.  With gusto I threw everything in the recycling bin.

[completely unrelated:  I’m listening to the “Classic Hits Blend” music station on our satellite tv provider.  the last song they played was “Summer in the City” by The Lovin’ Spoonful and now it’s “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” by Green Day.  It’s quite the switch.  Next up: “Ironic” by Alanis Morissette. “Pretty in Pink” by The Psychedelic Furs. “Hey Nineteen” by Steely Dan. “Walking in Memphis” by Marc Cohn. ]

It felt good to release myself from keeping all that stuff.  If we’d moved it, that would’ve been a box I wouldn’t have unpacked in the new house.  I’ve been trying to “rehome” (Goodwill, friends, recycling, trash, etc) things that I’ve been keeping for someday (I’m looking at you: size 8 jeans), or because they’re “still good” (even though I haven’t used it in 2+ years), etc.  I need to find out the price per pound we’re paying for the move and keep track of how much I’ve saved by leaving stuff here in some form.  Okay, I won’t really keep track (because I don’t need another job right now), but I might just feel good about it.

I’m linking up with Ginny over at Small Things for the Yarn Along again this week.  Over the course of the week, I read all the yarn along blog posts from all the other bloggers.  I add things to my Goodreads queue, sometimes to my Ravelry queue, and sometimes I comment.    You should go check them out.  Ginny has added a great picture linky thing so you can see a little thumbnail of what people have blogged.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 27

  1. Heather says:

    I hate how those size 8 jeans have a staring problem. Out they go, I say!

Leave a Reply

