Productivity and pumpkin

Do you ever have those days when you feel like you’ve been really productive and that time actually moved slower than you were expecting (but in a good way)?  That was today.

I had a bit of a lie in this morning and then started to tackle the day.  I did several loads of towels (I’m ALWAYS behind on towels), folded other loads of laundry that had been idling, unloaded the dishwasher, reorganized some stuff, and made a lesson plan for the week which included printing up the daily work lists for the boys (at least for Monday).  The boys repainted the garage door (which included a run for paint).  At 2 I was feeling pretty accomplished, and knew DH had hockey tonight, so I took off for a while.

I headed over to the mermaid themed beverage provider with a book and some knitting.  I nursed my chai latte, read a couple of chapters, worked on a washcloth and just generally relaxed.  Perfect.  Last night I was really irritable, so I was glad today was going much better.

After dinner, I did a quick run to the store so I could do a little baking this evening.

pumpkin, ginger, and potatoesOnce I had decided to make muffins, I figured I might as well get some potatoes and bake those while the oven was on.  Hopefully they’ll turn into baked potato soup tomorrow. I’m going to try this recipe because I can’t find the one I’ve used before.

This is a pumpkin muffin batter (it’s so dark from the molasses) with some candied ginger ready to get mixed in.  I tripled the recipe to use up all the ginger I had (plus 2 cans of pumpkin that had been languishing in the pantry, and 5 cups of flour).  I had started out planning to use the sweet potato muffin recipe I’ve used before with pumpkin, but then I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and cardamom the original recipe.  I threw some pumpkin seeds on top.

pumpkin muffin

Now we have more muffins for snacks (the blueberry ones are gone) and the start of lunch for tomorrow.  I had thought about also starting macaroni and cheese, but bedtime came.  On the plus side, I wasn’t still baking muffins at 11.  I need to do the dishes, but right now the cat is trying to take over my lap (which makes using the laptop challenging).

This entry was posted in baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

