Yarn Along 2013: Week 30

So, I don’t have any knitting or reading pictures to post today to go along with Ginny’s Yarn Along, but I have other things for show and tell.  As an aside, I did a student teaching placement in a kindergarten class where the teacher called that “Drag and Brag” rather than “Show and Tell” (you “Dragged” something in from home and you “bragged” about it).  They had a rule that you kept your D&B item behind you in the circle until it was your turn so that everyone paid attention to the child who was speaking.  It worked reasonably well.

This afternoon, the four of us headed out to the Art Museum to see their exhibit on “The Art of Video Games.”  It was a pretty good exhibit, and I know DH enjoyed talking to the kids about different systems and what games he had played on them. I didn’t get any video game pictures (and yes, they had games you could play), but this painting was in that same space and I really liked it.  I’m sure it’s the bold colors and very clean lines.

vanishing patchwork

We did a little exploring of the other exhibits.  Thing 1 (12.5) regularly announced that he was bored, but he stayed with us.  Thing 2 was initially bored and then started to examine the portraits and paintings more and tried a bit of art critique.  He started with “that’s a really good painting” and we talked about what he might like about it, or why he liked one more than the other.  We looked at some Impressionist pieces both up close and from farther away.  There was a painting by Ivan Albright that was easier to see what it was close up rather than far away (the opposite of Impressionist like Monet).

Thing 1 did like the gallery of Thorne Rooms.  To geek out for a small moment, the artist’s name is Narcissa Niblack Thorne.  I immediately thought of Narcissa from Harry Potter because she was a Black before she married Lucius Malfoy.  I was amazed at how detailed they were and how authentic.  I really liked the rooms where you could see things outside of the room (one had a door open to “outside” and you could see a flower garden and a chicken).

The one exhibit other than the video games that I wanted to see was “You Who Are Getting Obliterated in the Dancing Swarm of Fireflies” by Yayoi Kusama.  I took some video with my phone, but I can’t find it on the computer now, so you’ll have to just imagine it (or go look at youtube).  It was very cool.  Amazing.  I sat down against a wall and probably could’ve stayed there for the better part of half an hour.   DH lasted less than 5 minutes before the disorientation bothered him too much and he left (taking Thing 1 with him).  Thing 2 stayed with me for a while and then got antsy.  So, out we went again.

We also enjoyed the contemporary and modern collections.  These are always the most “extreme” collections for me.  For example, I really like this piece:

pearl bonnet 1ea pearl bonnet 2There were 9 of these bonnets, and each of them had different patterns on the headpiece.  It took me a minute to realize what they were made from.  Can you tell?
I thought that silver stuff was some kind of fringey fun fur or Christmas tinsel/garland initially.  It’s not.  It’s all pearl headed corsage pins.   The artist is Angela Ellsworth and the bonnets represent the 9 wives of Lorenzo Snow, her great-great grandfather.

It was a piece that was easy to understand (they’re bonnets)  and even to guess at some intended symbolism (a statement on how headcovering is a form of punishment? talking about how harsh pioneer life was for women?).  However, the bonnets themselves were such an amazing amount of work and attention to detail that even without pondering symbolism, they were easily identifiable as “art” to me.

And then there was the piece that was simply a chain of handcuffs hanging down the side of the wall.  Nothing had been done to them – they were just linked a la paper chains, and then hung against a while wall with some sitting on the floor.   When are handcuffs not just handcuffs?  When they’re a statement about how countries are shackled together in the global economy, and commenting on social justice, etc.  Oh, and it’s called “Fairylights.”  Obviously.  Where is Mark Twain when you need him?

So, there was something for all of us.  We had a generally good time at the museum and then the group of us (there were several families from our Park Day gang at the museum together) headed over to the local soda fountain/restaurant/vintage shop for dinner.   My kids (especially Thing 2) LOVE sitting at the counter and watching all the ice cream things get made by the staff.  The people who work there are consistently friendly, and seem to always be willing to answer questions or make suggestions.

To keep on topic with the Yarn Along, I’m knitting yet another square for the Ground Cover project (a “little arrows” pattern this time), and I’m still reading The Stepsister Scheme.  My reading has fallen off the past week or so because I keep forgetting to bring a book upstairs with me, and we’ve been out of the house at lunchtime (I often read at the table) or I’ve been busy doing child wrangling during lunch (the neighbor kid has been over here frequently).

Do you visit art museums?  Do you have favorite artists or pieces?  Do you have more appreciation for modern (contemporary?) art than I do?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along 2013: Week 30

  1. wanda says:

    I thought the bonnets were amazing, but not sure why head covering would be a form of punishment? I often wish as women we still had that option. I love hats!

  2. ameyknits says:

    I think “punishment” isn’t exactly the right word. I was thinking of the idea that women HAVE to cover their hair (lest they distract men). While I know that wasn’t the point of prairie bonnets (which really seem like they were more of a practical nature – sunscreen), the bonnets made me think of the concept of headcovering as a form of subtle repression. Or maybe not so subtle, when the bonnet is made of pins. Yikes!

    You should TOTALLY wear hats! I think they’re a great fashion option.

Leave a Reply

