Yarn Along 2013: Week 36

Another quick post because morning is coming early here this week.  Thing 2 wanted to go to public school and we figured this was a fine time to try it out.  So far the staff has been very friendly and helpful.  Thing 2 came home today (his first day – they started last week) saying that he’d had a fantastic day and that it was a good choice for him.  The downside for ME is that the day starts at 7:30, so he has to be at school before then.  We left this morning at 6:50 so that we were there closer to 7 than 7:30.  That meant getting up at 6.  Bleh.

I know many of you are morning people.  I am not one of those.  I was out of bed until after midnight doing things and then couldn’t get to sleep, so I played internet solitaire until nearly 2.  Oh, and I finished the book I was reading.  Penelope was… weird.  Rebecca Harrington is the author.  I wrote a review on Goodreads:

This whole book was awkward. I’m willing to believe it’s one of those “personality conflict” kinds of situations (other people might really like it, but I don’t).
You know when you were a kid and did that thing where you stand a baseball bat on the ground, put your forehead on the top and walk around it several times? Then stand up and try to run in a straight line, but you can’t? This book is like that – you think it might be going in a straight line but instead it seems more like an angle and you’re constantly thinking you’ll correct. Or something. Clearly my future is not in book reviewing.

I added it to my goodreads list in October.  I’m guessing I saw it recommended (or someone else was reading it somewhere) and added it.   We can’t win them all.

Today I downloaded The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth and I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman.  I’ve just barely started reading the latter.

socks I'd know anywhere

I went to a new knitting group at a LYS last night and finished turning the second heel of my socks.  Success!  I bought a copy of The Great American Aran Afghan too while I was there.

Oh, this is already longer than I should’ve been writing.  Have a good night everyone.  Go check out the other Yarn Along folks with Ginny.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

