Tea, toast and a peach

Early mornings and I are still not friends, but I’m being a grown-up about it.  DH, who is generally an early riser, seems to be still in bed and asleep thru most of Thing 2’s morning routine.  To be fair, I’ve taken late morning naps several days now.  I think I run on fumes and adrenaline until about 9:30 or 10 and then I hit a wall.  I need to work on shifting my way of thinking and do my “alone/off-the-clock” time in these early mornings rather than late at night.

This morning, after I packed Thing 2 out the door (when it was still dark), I checked email and then made breakfast.  I decided to take my breakfast out on the patio (note to self: the patio chair cushions are just slightly damp in the mornings – bring a towel next time).  I loaded up my tea tray with tea, toast, and a peach I received from a random stranger the other day.

patio breakfast

patio breakfast

About the peach.  On Wednesday, Thing 2 was finally assigned a bus and took it home that afternoon.  While I was standing on the corner waiting for him (because I’d been told he needed to be met by an adult), a convertible drove up.  The man driving says to me, “I bet you weren’t standing there waiting for someone to give you a peach!” and handed me that peach.  He had a basket of them on the front seat and said he was taking some to his daughter.  I thanked him, a little dumbstruck that someone had just given me a peach.

The knife is there because I wanted to slice the peach in half and remove the pit before I ate it.

I really love your peaches, wanna shake your tree

I really love your peaches, wanna shake your tree

I can be a wimp about stone fruits.  Yeah, yeah First World Problems and all that.  I don’t like the flesh right where the stone was, so I sloppily cut that out and threw it into the wooded area behind the house (the stone, too).  I heard the squirrels and birds awake this morning and thought they could use a little something.  The peach was fresh, juicy, and the fuzz was mild (the fuzz is why I generally stick with nectarines).

Things I’ve heard this morning:

  • the cat, annoyed that I wouldn’t let her outside
  • the neighbor’s sprinklers coming on
  • squirrels
  • birds
  • crickets
  • possibly other chirping insects
  • the large trucks arriving (and backing up) as they start the work on other houses this morning
  • the vacuum (??  no idea what’s happening in the house)

This afternoon, my MIL is coming down to spend the night.  She’s picking up her parents at the airport tomorrow, and then they’re going back to her house.  She has offered to be in charge of the boys tonight so that DH and I can go out and belatedly celebrate our anniversary (it was the day after the moving truck arrived), and we’re taking her up on that offer.   I want to check out the local farmer’s market on Saturday morning and then Thing 2 has his first travel hockey game on Sunday.  Thing 1 and I are skipping that because those attending need to leave around 6am.  I should probably keep up the semi-early wake times (ugh), and may check out the local UU church.

Do you have any big weekend plans?  Are you a morning person or a night owl?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tea, toast and a peach

  1. Neither unfortunately…

  2. Connie says:

    You are a funny lady! I am definitely a morning person. I do however, remember hating mornings and the drudgery of certain things that had to be done whether I felt like it or not. Those days are long gone as my children are now adults and living in other states. 😦 I have also on occasion been known to stay up past midnight…on those occasions the next morning I’m not a morning person. LOL

  3. Heather says:

    Morning all the way. I am a mess at night- whiney, short-tempered and general sleepy. fortunately I married a night person, so he handles those hours. The peach fuzz gets me too.

Leave a Reply

