Yarn Along 2013: Week 43

So, I thought I was going to post again during last week and didn’t.  I’ll have to try again this week.  I want to talk about things I’ve finished and new plans and all that.

A couple weeks ago I headed out to a knit night at a LYS and decided on my way out that I was tired and wouldn’t stay.  I did, however, have a browse around and bought myself a little something.  I was thinking I would knit a cowl of some kind for my cousin in Minnesota, so I wanted something soft and washable.  I picked up a skein of Malabrigo’s Rios and fell in lust.  I debated between several colors and finally decided on Arco Iris (rainbow).  I hadn’t started anything with it yet because I’d been busy finishing up several things.

Then, a baby shower invitation showed up.   A dear, dear friend was having her first baby.  I talked with a couple of knitting friends and decided that a great new baby gift would be the Milo vest.  What yarn to use?  Oh!  The Rios.  It’s not really “girlie,” it’s machine washable, and it will help keep a December born New England baby warm.  Perfect.

DSC00542I started it last night when I went back to that LYS for knit night.  I kept getting swoony over the yarn.  I love the feel of it.  I love the color changes.  I love that it will be something for this new baby.  I’m going to put that XO cable down it because this will definitely be a gift full of love for this family.

I started reading Far, Far Away by Tom McNeal today.  I had his To Be Sung Underwater in my goodreads queue, but it wasn’t available at the library.  This was.  I only just realized it’s YA, but that’s not a problem for me.

I’m linking up with Ginny’s Yarn Along.  What are you making this week?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 43

  1. Stacia says:

    Yay Milo. That is going to be so cute.

Leave a Reply

