Yarn Along 2013: Week 49

Week 49?  The end of the year is definitely sneaking up on me. I thought it would be easier being in an area that actually got cold in the winter, and it has been a little.  I think the fact that we’re still not settled in completely is adding to my general unpreparedness.

I spent some of yesterday and the bulk of my spare time today working on Christmas cards.  I’m still reading Loving Frank and listening to Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk.   The audiobook has been getting less play because I’ve been avoiding wearing headphones for a while.

DSC00626There are those pink socks again.  My mom flies in tomorrow and could bring them back to my cousin when she goes home, but I’m no longer positive that’s a choice.  No worries – who doesn’t like getting fun packages at home?

On the side of the picture you can see a cardboard box with a plastic bag inside.  Remember how I did a bunch of “stash busting” in 2012, and really wanted to do more of it this year (but was far less motivated – maybe this was my fallow year?)?  Well, I succumbed to Knit Picks’s “Big Sale” (the week of Thanksgiving, basically).     I didn’t go completely crazy, and I had mental plans for almost everything I ordered.  I had started out planning to just get some yarn to make striped armwarmers for Thing 1, and then the sale happened and prices dropped all over the place, and well…

DSC00628I bought enough yarn to make the Hue Shift Afghan, and some cowls, and the arm warmers, and maybe wrist warmers for me….  I didn’t take notes, though, so I have no idea what some of the yarn was meant for, which is kind of annoying.  I need to get pictures of all of it and add it to my stash on Ravelry.

I have a feeling that 2014 might be The Year of the Blanket, since I have the Hue Shift planned, I’ll need to work on (finish?) the Creeper blanket for Thing 2, and I’ve mostly decided to make the Silent Night Tree Skirt out of the bazillion skeins of red cotton-ease I have.

How are things going for you as the year wraps up?

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

