Yarn Along 2013: Week 52

Hey all.  It’s the last Wednesday of 2013.  We’re spending Winter Break on the road.  I realized some time after committing to this plan that it meant not spending the first Christmas in our new house actually IN the new house.  However, it’s also been the first Christmas in 12 years that we’ve been able to somewhat reasonably travel to see family.  Which is good.  I wish we were closer still, but I’ll take what I can get.

I think I’ll wait and detail our travels in another post (maybe when it’s all done and I’ve gotten more consistent rest), but I wanted to do a Yarn Along post even though Ginny isn’t coordinating it this week.   She did post, but I know that was more about the holiday than the blog ring thing.  Plus, hey look!  I actually took a picture.

IMG_20131225_134214900This was taken on the porch of the second stop on our multi-stop tour (I have to decide if I should just count places we SLEEP, or also places we visit).  My FIL’s partner took me yarn shopping and I chose some malabrigo, and this lovely ball of Kraemer Sterling Silk & Silver.  My yarn label actually includes “silver” as 2% of the content, but the website uses “poly fiber with a aluminum coating.”  Either way, it’s a little bit of bling.

I’m reading Oryx and Crake again.  On my own, I’m listening to Stately Pursuits by Katie Fforde.  The family is listening to Ender’s Shadow in the car.  I’m loosely following it because sometimes I end up nodding off while we’re listening.  I’ve just realized I left my headphones in the car, so I won’t be listening to anymore of my book tonight.

You can see the light dusting of snow out there.  Thing 2 has been overjoyed by the snow.  There were flurries Christmas Eve evening, and he kept going outside to stand in it while we were at a family party.  There was barely half an inch in accumulation, but snow on Christmas always is extra magical, isn’t it?

I’d like to send out a huge THANK YOU to everyone who was working today. Gas station attendants, the people working at rest areas on the highway, toll booth operators, plus all the emergency personnel we didn’t have to see (thankfully!) — just all the people who were out keeping the world running smoothly while the rest of us were able to spend the day with friends and family.

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2013: Week 52

  1. Megan-Anne says:

    I love Kraemer Sterling Silk & Silver. I used it to make my wedding shawl.

Leave a Reply

