Yarn Along 2014: Week 3

Tonight I had dinner with a dear friend from Girl Scout camp.  She and her family were spending the night here before flying on to a Caribbean vacation.  It was lovely to see J and her girls and her husband.  We had an active dinner (these were not two sedate girls of 4 and 6, but I can’t say that I blame them after flying across the country already) with a lot of conversation.

I brought knitting with me (because I had a lapse of sanity and thought I might knit while dining with young children), and actually thought about taking a picture of it at the table with kid menus or drawings or whatever.  Didn’t happen.  I took not a single picture.  Not knitting, not girlies, not the two of us together.  We were just cramming as much as we could into the 3 hours we were together.

J gave me the magazine she’d read on the plane.  Nothing like a little mindless plane reading.

DSC00869Oh yes.  Us Weekly.  That little bit of knitting is a washcloth out of Henry’s Attic Cotton Chenille.  Those are some size US 10 needles.  I think I’ve made one of these before with like a size 8, and you end up with something DENSE.  This time I went for ease and used a bigger needle.  I figure it’ll shrink a little with washing and then it’ll be a good texture.

I’ll be reading theUs Weekly tonight.  I’m listening to Notorious Nineteen by Janet Evanovich.  I’d like to listen to the 20th, but I have to wait my turn.  My turn just came up for the ebook version of Oryx and Crake (again), so I’ll finally be able to finish that.  I’d made it to the end of chapter 12 (out of 15) before my loan expired the last time.  I’ve just put The Year of the Flood on hold as well (the sequel), so hopefully I’ll be able to read them close together.  I should probably check on how long the wait is for MaddAdam and put that on hold, too.

Are you Yarning Along with Ginny?  What good books are you reading?  I need to start my 2014 book list and tally up how many I read in 2013.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2014: Week 3

  1. Heather says:

    I just started The Signature of All Things. Recently finished Tinkers, Olive Kitteridge, The Burgess Brothers, and Maya Angelou’s Letters to My Daughter. I liked each for different reasons. Oh I also read The Ocean at the end of the Lane –odd but good.

Leave a Reply

