Yarn Along 2014: Week 4

Thank goodness for long weekends.

This weekend, Thing 2 had a hockey tournament in Nashville, Tennessee.   This is about a 7 hour drive from our house (440 miles).  Along the way, the time zone changes, too, but I’m not exactly sure where – somewhere in the middle of Tennessee.  Due to a series of unfortunate events, we didn’t leave here until after 5pm on Friday, which got us into the hotel at 12:45am Saturday morning.  He played Saturday evening (which gave us time for a very satisfactory nap), Sunday morning (at the Predators’ arena) and afternoon, and Monday morning.  The results of the Monday morning game would determine if we’d be staying to play late Monday afternoon, or going home Monday morning.   As much as we wanted our kids to play in the championship game Monday afternoon, several of the parents wouldn’t have been completely sad to miss out on that and instead get home at a decent hour.

They played in the championship game — AND WON!  We got home Tuesday morning at 2am.

I spent most of Tuesday in bed.  Thing 2 and I have been fighting a cold and cough.  Adding in ice hockey and irregular schedules (thankfully we managed to eat reasonably well this weekend – it can be tricky dealing with weird schedules and being away from home), and I was beat.  Thing 2 spent most of Tuesday watching Minecraft videos or playing Minecraft.  He had Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday off from school, so today was another slow day.  I got a little more done and I feel a little better.

I barely knitted while I was in Nashville.  I was dealing with the cold (the coughing and nose blowing made my head ache), I was obligated to take pictures (I shouldn’t have bothered – I didn’t want to move from my spot in the stands, so they’re not that great), and I made a point of going to sleep when Thing 2 did rather than staying up crazy late.  I managed to ball up a skein of Imagination that I wanted to turn into a cowl, and I casted on.

DSC00881I’m currently listening to Fiend by Peter Stenson.  I finally finished Oryx and Crake, and I started reading something lighter: Spinning Forward by Terri DuLong.

What’s new with you?  Do you have any good cold remedies?  Well, I know you don’t actually “cure” the cold – you just wait it out, but what do you do to feel a little better during the wait?

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along 2014: Week 4

  1. Kelly J. R. says:

    I take kyolic garlic immune formula when I’m sick. Seems to help! I also love Gypsy Cold Care tea by Traditional Medicinals. Feel better!

  2. Heather says:

    I use elderberry syrup sometimes in tea. I also like Vit C, Zinc, and Wellness Support. Sometimes we do garlic too. Hope you are on the mend. LEt me know about Skype.

Leave a Reply

