Yarn Along 2014: Week 5

A day late and a dollar short as my grandparents would’ve said.   I had mental plans to post yesterday, and then I was caught up in all the snow day madness that I just had to give up.  My kids played some in the snow (2 inches, maybe) that we got, but the bulk of our yard was snow-free by noon.  They had another snow day today, probably because of expected black ice in the morning.  Tomorrow they’re having a 2 hour delay.  This has translated to THREE DAYS of sleeping in, mid-week, for me.  Huzzah!

I’ve been trying to be more attentive to my knitting because I know I’ve been wasting bits of time here and there that could be far more productive.  Bringing knitting to restaurants helps me avoid appetizer eating, too.  I’ve made very decent progress on the cowl from last week, and I’ve been banging out rows on another Minecraft blanket square.  I need to get some graph paper and try a couple of striping patterns for fingerless mitts that Thing 1 wants.   I need to get out paper and make a good list of all the various WIP and planned projects I have, as well as other general tasks that need to be accomplished.

DSC00885I keep buying bananas and then the family doesn’t eat them, so I am forced to bake with them.  Last week it was banana muffins.  This week it’s Banoffee scones.  They’re quite soft, and the banana flavor is stronger than the toffee.  If I was a more indulgent baker, I’d mix up some toffee flavored drizzle for them, but I’m not.  Thankfully, the family is happy with almost any baked good.  I made a double batch of dough (which took up an entire bag of Heath toffee bits), and put one batch in the freezer unbaked.   Baking them from frozen adds a few minutes, but the end result is a bit fresher tasting than freezing them already baked.  I probably should’ve only baked 6, rather than 12, just to control the consumption in the house.

You can see the blanket patch in the picture, too.  I’m using the Impeccable from Michael’s because that’s what the pattern writer used and then I don’t have to try to find identical colors elsewhere.  I think I can get 3 patches from a standard ball, but I noticed Michael’s also sells supersized balls, which would also be great to have.  I’ve been keeping track of the per yard price when I go in because sometimes the standard balls are a better price depending on sales and coupons.

My cold is fading away, but it’s still here.  I think it’s better when I’m better about getting enough fluids.  The extra rest I’ve gotten has helped, too, I’m sure.  I know it’s helped Thing 2.  Of course now Thing 1 has it.  He’s been chained to a tissue box for the past couple of days.

In addition to recipes, I’ve been reading the third Mitford book, listening to Fiend still (nearly done), and occasionally reading Spinning Forward.  That last one is kind of getting on my nerves, but I’m not giving up yet (I’m not sure why….).

Are you staying warm and dry?

This entry was posted in baking, Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along 2014: Week 5

  1. Megan-Anne says:

    My husband would love that Minecraft creeper blanket. I wish I had time to make it for him.

    Good luck battling the cold at your house! We’re just getting over a bad string of it at mine.

    • ameyknits says:

      I’ve mentally set a goal for the end of the year, but I haven’t sorted out how many squares per month that might involve, so I may have to readjust my goal. He’s thrilled.

Leave a Reply

