A small bit of design

Before winter holiday season, Thing 1 asked if I would make him some fingerless gloves.  He wanted yellow and black stripes and at the time, he wanted vertical stripes (up the length of his arm, not around it).  I ordered yarn that he picked from Knit Picks in my brief “order all the things!” attack around Black Friday, and then didn’t knit them.  I was hoping to finish the pink socks first, but that didn’t happen (they’re still in progress).

I was feeling guilty that it was now February and I still hadn’t even STARTED them, especially since I’ve been making blocks for Thing 2’s blanket (the one from Wednesday?  I had to rip that out since it was nearly 13 inches wide rather than 10.  Why did I think it would get narrower if I kept working on it??).  So, yesterday I got out the graph paper (regular graph, not knitters graph paper, because I didn’t think it would matter for this task), and did some coloring in a few different combinations to see what the boy might like.  I also drew some poor sketches of the two styles I was considering (thumb gusset or just a hole in the side).

DSC00889Thank goodness I asked.  During our chat, I found out that Thing 1 would now prefer horizontal stripes (yay!  so much easier for me to do!), and he wants just a hole.  While we had SNOW last week, today it was 65F, so he’s feeling like I waited too long to make them.  I’m hoping we get another cold snap or two once I (start and) finish them, so he still has a reason to wear them.  Thankfully they’re out of sock weight yarn, so they’ll be thin and good for much of spring and possibly again in the fall.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A small bit of design

  1. Heather says:

    What exactly is knitter’s graphing paper? I didn’t know there was a different product just for knitters. Vertical would not be bad if you are okay with a hole for the thumb – just knit lengthwise and seam. Of course the new method is even better. And I love that he had a definite idea about the striping.

Leave a Reply

