Yarn Along 2014: Week 7

We had another big snow day today.  I had a fantastic evening of insomnia last night that resulted in my being up until 6am today.  I finally fell asleep and slept until noon.  I’m really not keen on this new pattern of not sleeping at night and then having to sleep away the bulk of the morning.  On the plus side, I was able to get a work list done for Thing 1 while I sat up watching movies in the middle of the night.

Once I was vertical again, I mostly sat on the couch.  I should’ve gotten knitting done, but I didn’t.  I spent time looking at hat patterns (and not deciding on any – I’m looking for a worsted weight pattern if you have one you love).  I drank tea, folded some laundry, and read more of my book.

My view for much of today.  It was really amazing how much snow we got.  About 2 inches fell yesterday.  At least another 4 fell today.  I forgot to measure before the sleet started coming, and I can’t seem to find out how much we got.  I can find out how much more might be coming, but not what’s already here.

DSC00892

I’m reading The Year of the Flood and I’m glad that I read Oryx and Crake in recent memory and took a quick note about character names.  Crake has a small part in Flood, but under his real name.   I’m working on striped arm warmers for Thing 1.  This whole “two at a time and two color stripes” business is kind of tangly, but I know I’ll be glad that they’re both done at the same time even if I have to stop and sort everything out periodically.DSC00894They look so skinny in this picture. I’m using a 3×2 rib, and they fit my arm (and Thing 1’s arm!) when I try them on, so that’s good.  With this challenging weather we’ve been having, I wish I had them done already so he could be wearing them when he goes outside as an extra layer of warmth.

The boys played outside again today.  The next door neighbor has a snowboard, so the boys have been trying that out.  There aren’t HUGE hills anywhere, but there is a slight slope.  The neighbors on the other side have been sledding.  It’s been great seeing everyone outside.  Over the weekend, the neighbors were sitting outside in camp chairs while kids played.  Today, they’re bundled up tight.  I’m glad we got snowpants and big jackets for the kids for our trip north at Christmastime (when it barely snowed).  I wish we had invested in real waterproof boots for them, but who expects 6 inches of snow in North Carolina (and no, we’re not in the mountains, where they DO regularly get snow and the rest of us get rain).  I’ll get real boots next year, because even if it’s not snowy, they’ll still use them for mucking thru the mud and by stream banks.

I’m linking up with Ginny for her weekly Yarn Along.  Let me know what hat patterns you love (knitting, worsted weight, for an adult head).

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along 2014: Week 7

  1. Michelle says:

    Well hello. I just popped over from the yarn along and giggled enough through your “about me” page that I had to say hi. It looks like we have a lot in common; we moved from New England to Virginia not too long ago, and I too am a homeschooling mama living in a house full of boys. Also, not a fan of cleaning, love Baskin Robins, was a Girl Scout, yada yada…

    Anyway, it’s lovely to “meet” you. I hope you enjoy the snow; we’re thrilled to go sledding tomorrow-first time since we moved. But it sure makes me homesick!

    Peace,
    ~Michelle

  2. Andi says:

    What beautiful snow you have! I am going to add that book to my Goodreads. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

