5KCBWDAY3 – Experimental Photography

Refresh your skills at creating attention-grabbing pictures.

My approach to knitting is generally “function over form” – the thing needs to be useful.  I want finished objects.  I want clear patterns.  There’s some quote somewhere about wanting clothes that don’t itch – that’s me.  I want things to be simple and logical most of the time.

That’s the way I tend to photograph things – I want the image to be clear, but I don’t want to have to work hard to get it.  DH has a fancy DSLR camera with several lenses and he’s read up on how to use the setting for different purposes (especially when taking pictures of sporting events).    I’ve used that camera, and like it.  However, it can be a pain to get that camera out of its case, use it, put it back properly (and remembering to put the memory card back in it!), etc.  We also have a small digital “point and shoot” camera with a couple different settings.  I tend to use that one for quick pictures.  I’ve found that the “food” setting works great for knitting pictures done in natural light.   I should’ve hauled out the big camera for this particular post, but I didn’t because I was losing the light and there was dinner chaos, and boys to organize, and life.

I know I’m not good at picking creative ways to model my knitting, either.  Maybe if I sat on it for a few days, and maybe I should consider that for a FO in the future.  The dating profile photo shoot I did yesterday was a pretty big attack of creativity for me.

I opted to just use my current WIP rather than digging out some FO to use for this task.  Honestly – this is the wrong week for me to be blogging every day (a friend flies in tomorrow for the weekend, we’re going to a conference out of town, there’s boy hockey stuff to deal with, I’m not sleeping well, the cat has been waking me up at 3am for unknown reasons, etc), but I’m trying to stick with the program.

When I was thinking about a way to photograph a scarf, I could imagine it as a road.  I grabbed a couple of Thing 2’s Hot Wheels and laid them out as if they were racing.  I found a setting on the camera that would automatically blur the background (and I’ve just realized that I meant to crop out the grill you can see on the right).

DSC01027

I tried that same setting, but draped it in a branch in the backyard.  This is a low branch, and I think I would’ve tried more things if it actually were finished.  It’s a little more challenging when the item you’re photographing is still attached to two balls of yarn.  DSC01032I also thought about asking one of the kids to model it – perhaps as a blindfold, but then I decided it was too short.

This prompt has made me think more about how to photograph things, and I’ll have to refer back to it in the future.

 

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5KCBWDAY3 – Experimental Photography

  1. Audry says:

    I really like that hot wheels shot. It’s quite clever. The stripes in the project make the cars look like they are moving.

  2. The car photo is absolutely awesome! Way to go!!

Leave a Reply

