5KCBWDAY4: Conversations Between Workers

Start by writing a few short paragraphs from the point of view of one of the tools you use for your craft. this might be a spinning wheel, crochet hook, pair of scissors or your knitting bag. These first few lines should include a description of this tool’s task and usage. If you are feeling particularly in tune with this item you might assign it feelings.

Then, write a dialogue between yourself and this item. It might describe your relationships, the annoyances that you have felt for this item at some point (or could it have possible ever have felt annoyances with you) and the wonderful work that you have created together.

It’s rattly in here.  Kind of cramped, and I’m forced to stand upright all the time.  Well, at least I’m forced to be perfectly straight all the time – sometimes my cage ends up on its side, or upside down (which does my head in, honestly).  I’ve gotten to know my cell mates pretty well, what with the confined quarters.  I think there’s a monk over there who’s just losing himself in his thoughts or meditation or something.  I’ve heard there are a couple of guys with broken ankles or something?  I don’t know, but they’re keeping quiet about it, so maybe they’re fine.  DSC01033 DSC01034Here we all are.  She laid us all out like a line up for a firing squad or something.  I don’t know.  She threw us all back in the cage right after.  See it up there?  At least it’s translucent so I can see daylight sometimes.

******

Those are my darning needles.  I have a couple with bent ends which can be handy for doing some end weaving.  I’ve used them for weaving in ends, sewing pieces together, and attaching buttons.  They’re very handy.  I like the little Chibi I have to store them – it’s compact and yet can hold several different sizes of needle so I can deal with a worsted weight sweater or fingering weight socks.

HOWEVER.  I lose this thing ALL.THE.TIME.  I move it from one bag to another and then forget where I had it last.  I was packing this large tote back for the conference I’m attending this weekend and heard the guys rattling around.  Yay!  Darning needles again!    Thank goodness, because at some point I’ll have to seam those 100 Minecraft squares and I’ll need the needles!  Now I just have to be careful not to lose them again.

Don’t everyone laugh at once.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

