Yarn Along 2014: Week 21

If you’ve been a long time reader, you know that I’m a homeschooling parent.  Both of my boys have been homeschooled since the beginning.  When we moved to the southeast in August, Thing 2 said he’d like to go to public school for the new school year.   Academically, I figured he’d be fine (the boy is a sponge with a great memory – he’s constantly learning things).  I wasn’t sure what public school culture might be like, though, which was my main concern.    You hear stories, you know, about very negative experiences.  However, I had homeschooled him and could again if that’s what was needed (or wanted), so we jumped in.

He has thrived.  I’ve found the staff to be warm and friendly, in addition to being competent and engaging.  They’ve helped all year with our transition and have been available to answer questions, and have provided great communication.  Phew!  Thing 2 thinks he’s had a great year.

He called home from school last week to let us know he’d be receiving an award for academic excellence.  The top two students (grade-wise) per grade get an award.  The ceremony was tonight.

DSC01054I brought knitting since I assumed there would be a lot of sitting and waiting.  I’ve started on the blanket, but the scarf is still my portable knitting, so that’s what came with me.  It’s over 3 feet long now, and I STILL like it.  Yeeha!

I’m reading The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton.  That was recommended by several people in Yarn Along posts.  I’m not far in, but I like it.    I’m listening to The Reluctant Assassin by Eoin Colfer.  It was one of the books from the first week of Audiobook Sync, which ” is a program that gives away two complete audiobook downloads–a current Young Adult title paired thematically with a Classic or Required Summer Reading title–each week to listeners ages 13+ while SYNC is in session each summer.”  The Colfer book is paired with The Time Machine by H.G. Wells.  This program has introduced us to many new authors and books.  We’ve really enjoyed it.

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2014: Week 21

  1. Lorraine says:

    Congratulations to your son, a great achievement. The scarf is looking good.

Leave a Reply

