Yarn Along 2014: Week 30

Things are still a little nutty in my corner of the world.   I’ve been traveling for family vacation and staying in different places, which can be both fun and challenging.   I’ve had the boys with me, and DH joined us late last week.

On the knitting front:

  • I made no further progress with the cabled blanket.  I need to weave in the ends still and wash it.
  • I finished that striped scarf I was knitting here and there.  I wove in the ends and then left it with my mom.  I liked knitting it, but have no recipient in mind.  She can keep it, give it to a friend, or donate it to her church’s mitten tree that they do in the winter.  I’m sure it could stand a wash, but I finished it the day before I left and decided it was better to leave it than to take it with me and let it sit for weeks.
  • I’ve worked on another blanket square for the Minecraft blanket.  It’s portable, but it’s also 100% acrylic, so sometimes I don’t want to touch it in this heat and humidity.
  • I finished the knitting on the baby sweater from last week.  I need to get buttons for it and do the seaming.  That may wait until we’re done traveling.

On the drive between my grandmother’s house and DH’s grandmother’s house, I worked on the Baby Surprise Jacket.  I’d been working on the middle back and forth bit and had taken out the stitch markers and packed them away.  During the drive, though, I finished that and needed markers again.  The markers, though, were in the WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY back part of the minivan – basically unreachable until we arrived at our destination.  However, I had an idea.  I was pretty sure Thing 1 brought his Leatherman multi-tool, and if he did, it would have scissors on it.  Did he have it?  Oh yes!  He handed them up, and I made some skinny cuts on the straw I had in my drink, and then TA-DA!  Stitch markers:

IMG_20140724_122359784_HDRSome of you may recognize the straw stripes.  Yes, they’re from that certain “Scottish” restaurant.    That’s a US 7 needle, and they fit quite comfortably.

On the reading front:

  • I finished When it Happens to You by Molly Ringwald and enjoyed it.   There is a Q&A with the author at the end that was interesting to read.
  • I started The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood and at times find the prose fascinating.  I like the plot, but I think the plot would be duller if not for the language she uses and how she uses it.

We head out for our next destination tomorrow morning.  I think I may need to start some socks for the car ride.

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2014: Week 30

  1. Love the baby surprise colours

Leave a Reply

