Yarn Along 2014: Week 31

Hey everyone!  Only one day late this week.  I even took pictures a couple of times so that I was all prepared and everything.  Last night, though, was a hard evening for me and I couldn’t be bothered to sit at the computer and post things.

On Monday we went to the beach.  I wasn’t feeling my best, so I spent the day on the blanket, reading and working on a new pair of socks.    When I posted last week, I said I was going to start them, but couldn’t find my circular needles that night.  I decided I’d probably left them at a previous destination (with family, so I knew they weren’t lost).  However, when I went to get packed Sunday morning, I found them behind a suitcase.  YAY!  So, I started them in the car on the drive.  During the day at the beach, I got a little sunburnt, and got the feet started.

IMG_20140728_130709951On Wednesday, we checked out a local historical village (I’d gone as a child, so I dragged the family).  I had the socks pose with some sheep.

IMG_20140730_141742807These socks are crazy fraternal.  I swear the yarn is the same color and the same dye lot.  I’m very okay with non-identical socks, and these have been fun to make because I really can’t predict what’s going to come next.   In case you were wondering, yes, my husband thought I was a little weird for taking this picture.  I didn’t care.

I started the gussets yesterday and will be dealing with the heels by the weekend if not by tomorrow.

In the first picture, you can see my book.  I’m still reading The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood.    I don’t have an audiobook in progress right now.  Instead, I’ve been listening to the Knitmore Girls podcast.    I like that they’re generally well organized and efficient.  I’ve listened to a couple other knitting podcasts that are just rambly or a conversation between two people that doesn’t seem to consider the listening audience.  KWIM?

Okay.  I have no idea if this is true (that it’s a Chinese saying), since the internets are unreliable, but a friend linked to this quote:

To read a book for the first time is to make an acquaintance with a new friend; to read it for a second time is to meet an old one. ~Chinese Saying

and asked, “Which book is YOUR best and favorite old friend?”  What’s your answer?

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

