Yarn Along 2014: Week 32

Hi everyone.  Check it out – the blanket is finished.  Ends are woven, it’s been washed and dried.  Pictures have been taken.  It just needs to get packaged up and mailed.  Yay!

DSC_0008

I need to actually measure it and weigh it so I can include those relevant details on my Ravelry project page.  It’s bulkier than my kitchen scale can handle, so I’ll probably weight it at the post office.

I’m still listening to back episodes of The Knitmore Girls and they’re pretty motivating.  I’ve been thinking about things I need to finish and what I could be doing to sneak in little pockets of knitting.  As a result, I’ve also finished the pair of socks I started while we were on vacation (weaving in ends and pictures still need to happen, but the knitting is done and the needles are empty).  I went out and bought buttons for the BSJ I was knitting, so I can do that seaming and button applying.  I got to work on another Minecraft square for Thing 2’s blanket (I’ve decided my best plan is to just immediately cast on another one as soon as one is finished – then it’s all ready to go).  I want to make another pair of socks, but almost all of my sock yarn needs to be split into two balls, so I’ll do that sometime soon.  I had a moment of “well, should I use the oldest yarn I have and work my way forward?  Use something from this vacation?  How to decide?!” Then I mentally smacked myself and said, “go knit a blanket square.  Deal with the socks tomorrow, and then just pick a yarn you like and move on.”  I still have to take pictures of all the yarn I acquired over vacation.   It was a bit too much, honestly, but I’m just moving forward from here.

I’m still reading Bubba and the Dead Woman by C.L. Bevill.  I’m enjoying it enough to consider reading the next one (it’s the first in a series).   I may suggest it to the mystery book club that I attend.  I got this book as a free Nook download (I have no idea when – I was kind of surprised to find it on my new Nook).

I’m linking up (late, of course), with Ginny over at Small Things.  I’ve linked directly to her Yarn Along post.  Life has been challenging for her family lately so keep her in your thoughts if that’s something you do.

On a personal note, I had a friend miscarry twins recently and she’s grieving the loss of her two special babes.   I’d like to maintain her privacy, but if you could send some cosmic love to D, E, and H, that would be lovely.  She considers them her two stars in the sky.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Uncategorized, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along 2014: Week 32

  1. arabianknits says:

    I never commented before, but I did pray for your friends who lost their babies. How are they doing?

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along 2014: Week 52 | Digging out of the stash

Leave a Reply

