Yarn Along 2014: Week 33

I did the responsible (?) thing and casted on a new pair of socks immediately after finishing the wacky ones.  I’m tempted to get a couple more pairs of my preferred needle size: 2.5mm/US 1.5 so that I could start a couple of pairs (ala Gigi from The Knitmore Girls) and then I could always have a pair going.  If I got thru the basic toe increases and was just reading to plow thru the plain knitting of the foot, I could leave a pair in the glove box, or just ready in my yarn bin.   Of course, maybe I should be avoiding socks and just concentrating on the blocks for Thing 2’s blanket, but I’ve missed knitting socks and am in a real “YAY!  SOCKS!!  MUST KNIT MORE SOCKS!!!” place right now.   So, I’m using that energy while I have it.

DSC01135

This is Lion Brand Sock-Ease in the “Rock candy” colorway.  It’s described as “Light gray with dark gray, dusty purple, yellow, and white.”   I think it looks a bit like “dirty, slushy snow that someone peed in.”  Clearly this isn’t a deterrent for me.  It helped that it was in the $2 bin at AC Moore one day.  $2 for a pair of socks?  Sign me up!

I woke up early this morning, so I had chai on the patio.  I’m still reading The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood.  I’ve been a reading slacker and I need to get back in the habit.   The book is moving a little slowly for me, but I need to stop playing stupid games on my phone

While I was in NY, my mom’s cousin came down from the Toronto area for a few days and had a ceramic travel mug like the one pictured.    I mentioned liking it and mom said she had one, but hated it because “it’s so heavy.”  I’ve been browsing them on amazon on and off, but haven’t bothered to get one for myself yet mostly because I have metal ones and couldn’t really justify getting ANOTHER travel mug.  So, mom gave me hers. Score!  I prefer how tea tastes in the ceramic mug SO much more than in the stainless steel.

I’m linking up with Ginny over at Small Things.  Go check out her lovely blog, and then check out the other Yarn Alongers. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

