Yarn Along 2014: Week 35

Calm down.  I know – TWO Wednesdays in a row.  If I’m not careful, the universe might just become completely in sync, everyone will live together in harmony, etc.  Oh wait – maybe that’s a good idea….

I finally finished The Robber Bride.  I wonder if it would’ve helped if I’d ever read The Robber Bridegroom by The Brother Grimm?  I found the ending a little anticlimactic or something.  I don’t know what I was hoping for.  I did enjoy the book – so far I’ve really liked everything that Margaret Atwood has written.  This one lacks the dystopian style of some of her other things, but the writing itself is still lovely.

I’m currently reading Thinking of You by Jill Mansell, which is definitely a lighter read.  I’ve put Outlander on hold, but there are something like 300 people ahead of me in the queue, so it’ll be a while before I get to that.  It was possible to place a hold on a collection that included the first 5 books.  With a 2 week loan, and no possibility of renewal (it’s an ebook, and if there are others waiting, you can’t renew), I’d be curious to know if anyone could actually get thru it.  I’d have to do nothing but read!

I’m still working on the zombie/dirty snow socks.  I’m still working on the gusset increases.  Pro-tip: when you’re doing increases, the rounds take longer and longer because of the increased number of stitches.  Math – it’s a thing!

I’ve been doing less knitting this week.  The boys went back to school on Monday (the first time for Thing 1).  DH also went into the office on Monday, so I could’ve spent the whole day being ALONE in my house.  Instead, I went and got a pedicure, and then dealt with a banking problem that required talking to someone in person, got groceries, and moved laundry.    On the plus side, I did all of those things without thinking “Thing 1 should be getting work done, and isn’t, and we’re all going to be annoyed when I get home.”

IMG_20140827_184204806

I was busy this weekend photographing and uploading new stash pictures to Ravelry.  When I got out all the yarn I acquired while on vacation, well, it’s a bit much.  I definitely need to get busy knitting.

I’m linking up with Ginny over at Small Things.  She hosts the Wednesday Yarn Along (post what you’re reading and crafting).   You should go check it out.

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

