Sometimes knitting progress is slow

Like snail slow.

This fella (lady?  how do you tell?) was in the driveway yesterday morning.   Thing 2 and I were heading out to his hockey game.  I didn’t get a whole lot of knitting done there because I was working on the Minecraft square, and I had to stop and check that I hadn’t gotten off pattern, or sort out what I needed to do for the next row.  And really – my attention should be on the game, so I tried to check only during stops in play (or when my kid wasn’t on the ice).

Later that day we tackled IKEA, and while I did get a little knitting done in the slow line, it wasn’t a huge amount.  The trip was productive and we timed it so that we’d be there for dinner and could enjoy some wee Swedish meatballs with lingonberries.

Today I finished the square in between loads of laundry.  I did a lot of bedding today, so it was minimal folding (a few big things per load).   While I feel somewhat accomplished (Thing 2 has all new bedding that looks good with his newish furniture), and I’m glad I didn’t need to leave the house today, tomorrow is shaping up to be a busy out of the house day that will leave little knitting time again.  I need to do more of the “here and there knitting” that seems to add up to more finished work.

I haven’t made a good “things to do” list in a while and I need to get back in the habit because I’m not doing a good job of focusing on tasks or prioritizing them and that means I’m just not getting done what I know I could be.  That’s not some “SUPER MOM!” thing, that’s just a realistic evaluation of how I’m managing my time.

Do you have some good ways of managing responsibilities and leisure time?

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes knitting progress is slow

  1. stacia says:

    actually……snails are true hermaphrodites. they have male and female sex organs. They can’t get themselves pregnant, but they can both impregnate and get pregnant. We like to use the gender neutral pronoun Zee. Here’s my favorite thing ever about snails (not for young children) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTV23B5gBsQ

  2. I’m a huge fan of lists. I carry a paper calendar in my purse for jotting of lists and reminders of my appointmenta

Leave a Reply

