Yarn Along 2014: Week 40

Holy cats, you guys.  It’s been a while.  I’m linking up with Ginny over at Small Things for this week’s Yarn Along.  The other links in this post are strictly informational – I don’t get any money if you click on them.

IMG_20141001_131745038I’m working on a Milo vest for a friend’s daughter.  I’m hoping the grey is okay.  It seems to be a very popular neutral right now, and I thought this could look good over many different shirts.   The yarn is dolce merino from Universal in the “wild dove” color.  One of the LYS was having a sale and this was discounted (and it’s discontinued).  I bought enough for the vest, and then enough in “forest green” for something for me.  Possibly a vest – I’m not completely sure what.

I took the picture at my sons’ school.  I was volunteering at the Book Fair today, and there was a lull between classes so I got another row done on the vest.  I didn’t expect to get much done, but I brought it just in case.  I spent most of my time reminding students that they’d have to pay tax above the prices on the books, and having them run those numbers.    I’ll admit this was a bit selfish on my part – I didn’t learn how to void transactions, so I wanted to double check before ringing things up on the cash register.

We went to the “Family Night” on Tuesday (from 4-7pm – this didn’t scream “family friendly” to me) and bought a stash of books.  I’m sure I could’ve gotten then less expensively on amazon, but this was a simply way to support the school and have more books my kids could have at the table (no library books at the table in my house – the spillage risk is still too high).  Thing 2 picked out some books in a series he likes (Fablehaven) and I picked out a random selection of other things that had plot lines I thought the boys might like.

I’m currently reading The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell.  I’m listening to Roadwork by Richard Bachman.  There was a preface from Stephen King about why he wrote as Bachman (the preface was written somewhat recently – it was after Desperation/The Regulators came out), and I found it kind of interesting.  Why authors choose to write under pseudonyms is interesting, especially when the books penned under that name seem similar to the ones penned under his own name.

How are things where you are?  I need to post a rambling update that will include fun things like “new home warranty repairs” and “bird feeders” and “plants I haven’t killed – yet.”  Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along 2014: Week 40

  1. heathermama says:

    fablehaven is a real hit here!! and i really like the gray for the sweater, it is a so good over so many colors. 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    Thinking about painting the butter colored walls a light blue-gray. Gray doesn’t seem bad in my book. How do you handle reading at meal times? I vacillate.

    • ameyknits says:

      I also vacillate. I’d rather there wasn’t reading at meal times, and instead lively conversation. However, some days I’m just too brain tired to facilitate that and I seem to be the only one who does. During hockey season, the tv is often on and airing a game during dinner. At those times, I read at the table.
      Thing 2 really shouldn’t read at the table because when he does, he pays more attention to the book than to eating. This leads to open-mouthed chewing, very rushed eating, and sometimes “mindless” eating (he’ll take a bag of tortilla chips to the table and eat and eat and eat and eat….
      I don’t allow library books at the table. The kids are better eaters (mess-wise), but I don’t want to pay for a book I don’t keep.
      Re: the grey. I was concerned that a grey sweater on a baby in winter in Massachusetts might be too much grey. I do like it as a neutral, though. Thing 1’s bedroom is now blue and grey (“smoke screen”). I think I should’ve gotten a lighter grey for this baby vest, but I was influenced by price and machine washability.

Leave a Reply

