Yarn Along 2014: Week 42

I know I promised a home improvement update, but life has been busy with home improvements, hockey, school, napping, etc.  Be patient, dear readers.  I haven’t forgotten.

I’m linking up with Ginny’s Yarn Along again (and on Wednesday even!).    Currently there’s a man in my kitchen/dining room working very hard to tear up the laminate flooring.  The builders glued the boards directly to the concrete rather than doing the slightly more expensive option of installing a floating floor.  This means that when the boards separated because of a crack in the cement, they have to be torn up and new boards installed.  I’m holed up in my bedroom with my computer, knitting, Nook, and snacks since the kitchen is a dust factory.

IMG_20141015_134733239

Maybe I should’ve cropped that.  I’m working on a Minecraft blanket square (I know – you’re completely surprised).  I’ve been working on some other things here and there, but this is what I have out right now.

My turn for The Absent One by Jussi Adler-Olsen came up at the library, so I can finally read the thrilling conclusion (I had about 50 pages left when my loan expired, and it was an ebook, so I immediately lost access to it).    I’m listening to A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore still (I think I was last week?).  That’s nearly finished, so I’ll need to find another audiobook that meets my requirements (decent narrator, light storyline).  Suggestions?

I’ve completely neglected to take monthly pictures of the back yard.  I need to start doing that again soon.  The leaves are starting to change color because autumn is here!

Hey – if you have a favorite autumnal soup/dinner/whatever thing – hook me up?  I need some kitchen based inspiration.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along 2014: Week 42

  1. Heather says:

    Not only behind in my own blog writing but also on my blog reading. Yummy soup is http://orangette.blogspot.com/2005/01/on-industry-indolence-and-italian.html I made it the other night and fed my family, my brother’s and a couple with infant twins. It seemed to go over well. And do you know what a rock star you will be when that blanket is complete!

  2. ameyknits says:

    Thing 2 eschews beans (other than “green beans” and hummus) with a firm hand. He’ll cope with lentils, but I don’t know if he’d eat lentil soup. He has eaten the honey baked lentils as part of a meal (salmon, lentils, rice, broccoli). Thing 1 will eat beans. DH doesn’t really care for them (he doesn’t even like hummus).
    Planning family meals in an age of plenty is a special kind of mentally exhausting. I’m grateful we have food available constantly.
    There’s a part in one of the Sookie Stackhouse books where Eric is talking about his childhood and how hungry they could get – starving. When Sookie comments that there are people starving here and now, he points out that now people could steal food, or beg for it, or whatever. Food is available. When he was a child (during the Viking age), if there wasn’t food available, there really and truly was NO FOOD.

Leave a Reply

