Yarn Along 2014: Week 49

DSC01175

This past weekend, Thing 2 and I traveled for hockey.  His games were a couple hours away, so we spent one night in a hotel.  I thought this would be a lovely reprieve since normally our noisy cat meows at my head several times during the night and she was staying home.  Instead, I had a kid who slept fitfully (he had his own bed, but ended up in mine).  Pairing the fitful night’s sleep with a 6:00am game (had to be at the rink at 5:20, 10 minute commute from hotel to rink), and we were both kind of useless Sunday evening.  That carried into Monday and Tuesday for me.  Ugh.

Anyway!  All that backstory to say that I brought new knitting with me on the trip.  I’m at the heel turn on my Jingle socks.  I knew I couldn’t turn the heel while watching hockey, and I knew we’d need an early night (we were gone Saturday to Sunday; the early game was Sunday morning).  So, I brought the yarn and the pattern for a simple hat.  I casted on at the first game (it only took 4 attempts….), and then mindlessly K1P1’ed thru the weekend.  I don’t know if anyone one in this house will wear it, but that’s okay.  It’s using up stash yarn (Universal Ditto – discontinued), and there’s always someone who can use a hat.

I’m still reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.   I don’t want to finish reading it because I don’t want it to end.  The descriptions are wonderful without making me feel like I’m drowning in description.  I find myself wondering what a movie based on the book might be like, and at the same time fearing that I’d be disappointed.

I’ve been listening to more of  the Knitmore Girls Podcast .  I couldn’t remember where I was (I got a new phone and my progress was lost), but it had been a couple of months since I last listened.  I decided to just start with the beginning of 2014.  I still like their style – they stay “on task” and don’t talk like everything is an inside joke.

I’ve just realized that my knitting coordinates with the book – everything in the Night Circus is black and white, and devotees of the circus wear something red when they go.  How about that?

What are you up to this week?  I’m linking up with Ginny over at Small Things.  She hosts the Yarn Along every week where bloggers share what they’re crafting and reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2014: Week 49

  1. Juliann says:

    I used to listen to the Knitmores. Now I am a big fan of Curious Handmade. Fun to change it up. Don’t you just love knitting hats?

Leave a Reply

